Radio Aerial Upgrade - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 18:40 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Munro's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: Scotland GB
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 120
Thanked 170 Times in 131 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garage
Aerial Upgrade

Has anyone successfully upgraded their aerial ?

I have seen a lot of complaints about reception but can't find anything on improvements.

My reception is fine around town, but once you get more than 10 miles from a main town the reception deteriorates. The reception out of town is not as good as my previous car which had a bee sting aerial.
Munro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 18:44
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I have seen pics of one car with external ariel and DAB unit.
http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...tml#post106596

I am going to see if a dealer can do anything about mine.
If not, I am considering talking to an ICE shop about fitting a new ariel.

Apparently the cable from the HU to the ariel is a number of seperate wire with individual groundings that sometimes are no good. So maybe even a new wire from HU to new ariel would be needed....



FWH is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 19:25
Nice Guy!
 
Brodick's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V40, D4, Se Lux
Join Date: 2nd December 2006
Location: Central Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 2,360
Thanks: 6
Thanked 44 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have the same level of reception in the Civic as I do in my CR-V
which has a proper aerial and dont really have any issues with reception
once or twice is has had interference but not for long
Brodick is offline  
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 19:28
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodick View Post
I have the same level of reception in the Civic as I do in my CR-V
which has a proper aerial and dont really have any issues with reception
once or twice is has had interference but not for long
I think some cars (like mine) have some kind of common fault off the manufacturing line that the dealers have a hard time fixing.
Personally, I believe in grouding of the ariel wire, but have no proof of that.

I find it hard to imagine that something this bad by design was actually released.

Also, some members (not only Broders) are happy, and one demo car I drove was definatly better than mine is.



FWH is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 19:45
 
Join Date: 14th April 2007
Location: South Manchester/North Cheshire GB
Posts: 712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I have to say that although I have fitted a DAB tuner to the car this was only because there are no decent stations on FM (in my opinion) the radio in mine has no reception problems at all.
cylon2007 is offline  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 19:46
BJJ IS NOT JUST FOR XMAS
 
illegalhunter's Avatar
 
Car: DS3
Join Date: 10th May 2007
Location: On the mat choking people SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,720
Thanks: 9
Thanked 137 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (2)
why dont Honda offer DAB ?
illegalhunter is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 19:53 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Munro's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: Scotland GB
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 120
Thanked 170 Times in 131 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by cylon2007 View Post
I have to say that although I have fitted a DAB tuner to the car this was only because there are no decent stations on FM (in my opinion) the radio in mine has no reception problems at all.
A DAB tuner sounds like a good solution. I have a few questions if thats OK:
1 Can you get good DAB reception away from towns and in remote areas like the north of Scotland ?
2 Do DABs hold the station on long motorway journeys ?
3 How much did you pay for your tuner ?
Munro is offline  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 20:41
 
Join Date: 14th April 2007
Location: South Manchester/North Cheshire GB
Posts: 712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munro View Post
A DAB tuner sounds like a good solution. I have a few questions if thats OK:
1 Can you get good DAB reception away from towns and in remote areas like the north of Scotland ? I drive (every week) between Soth Manchester and Milton Keynes and the signal is fine
2 Do DABs hold the station on long motorway journeys ? - yes in my experience
3 How much did you pay for your tuner ? I bought an Acoustic solutions ICS-100 of ebay for 53 (actually it was 2, 1 complete and unused plus 1 used and with a few bits missing) I also bought the upgrade ariel for 10 so 63.

A mate fitted it for ma at the same time as he installed the Connects2 required for the input and a Parrot 3100 that he supplied. He charged me 150 (mates rates) for that so all in it cost me 63+150+34 (connects2) so 247 for Parrot, connects2 and DAB tuner
cylon2007 is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 21:25 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Munro's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: Scotland GB
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 120
Thanked 170 Times in 131 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by cylon2007 View Post
A mate fitted it for ma at the same time as he installed the Connects2 required for the input and a Parrot 3100 that he supplied. He charged me 150 (mates rates) for that so all in it cost me 63+150+34 (connects2) so 247 for Parrot, connects2 and DAB tuner
Thanks. More Questions !

1 Did you have to drill a hole in the glass to fit the aerial
2 How did you / your mate run the cable from the DAB box to the aerial
4 Whats a parrot ?? (not the feathered kind!) and a connects 2 ?
Munro is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 21:29
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munro View Post
Whats a parrot ?? (not the feathered kind!)
Parrot is a bluetooth handsfree unit.
For example:
Parrot - 3200 LS-COLOR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Munro View Post
and a connects 2 ?

Connects2 is a aux in device that plugs into the CD changer input of the HU.
http://www.civinfo.com/wiki/index.ph...sing_connects2

You need a Connect2 (or similair) to connect a Parrot or mp3 or DAB or whatever to the HU.



FWH is offline  
post #11 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 21:31 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Munro's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: Scotland GB
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 120
Thanked 170 Times in 131 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garage
So I don't need a parrot or a connects 2 to fit the DAB ?
Munro is offline  
post #12 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 21:34
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munro View Post
So I don't need a parrot or a connects 2 to fit the DAB ?
Not the Parrot, but the Connects2.

Somehow you need to get the line output of the DAB receiver into the original HU in order to get the sound out to the speakers.

The only input on the HU is for a CD changer (or Honda I-pod kit). The connects2 connects to (no pun intended) this Honda input and provides a line in RCA connector (well 2 actually - it is in stereo) to which you can plug the DAB radio receiver into.



FWH is offline  
post #13 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 21:39 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Munro's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: Scotland GB
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 120
Thanked 170 Times in 131 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garage
I don't see a connects 2 on this diagram ? Is it something to do with the aux connection to the radio ?

http://www.dabincar.co.uk/acatalog/a...es_it_work.pdf
Munro is offline  
post #14 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 21:46
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munro View Post
I don't see a connects 2 on this diagram ? Is it something to do with the aux connection to the radio ?

http://www.dabincar.co.uk/acatalog/a...es_it_work.pdf

That diagram PRESUMES that you have regular RCA type AUX in on your stereo (option 2). The Civic HU doesn´t.
Therefore you need the connects2 to do that.
It will sit between the Black Box and the HU.

Option 2 is the way you want to go for good sound quality. Option 1 may work in the Civic but as I understand it that converts DAB to FM. = loss in quality.



FWH is offline  
post #15 of 25 (permalink) Old 4th November 2007, 23:14 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Munro's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: Scotland GB
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 120
Thanked 170 Times in 131 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brodick View Post
I have the same level of reception in the Civic as I do in my CR-V
which has a proper aerial and dont really have any issues with reception
once or twice is has had interference but not for long
Mine's fine around built up areas. It just not quite as good as previous cars on a journey - ie down the A74 or anywhere 10 or 20 miles away from a town. Does yours work OK in these conditions ?
Munro is offline  
post #16 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th November 2007, 08:03
Administrator
 
Kremmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: 7th January 2007
Posts: 20,944
Thanks: 857
Thanked 1,708 Times in 1,431 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yet again I find myself in the same boat as Brodick, mine has the same reception range as my previous car which had a roof mounted aerial.

Maybe they made some subtle changes for the 07 models ?
Kremmen is offline  
post #17 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th November 2007, 10:00
 
Join Date: 14th April 2007
Location: South Manchester/North Cheshire GB
Posts: 712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Munro View Post
Thanks. More Questions !

1 Did you have to drill a hole in the glass to fit the aerial - No it's a glass mount one. one bit sticks inside and the ariel sticks outside over it.
2 How did you / your mate run the cable from the DAB box to the aerial
4 Whats a parrot ?? (not the feathered kind!) and a connects 2 ?
Looks like all the other questions have been answered - ta guys
cylon2007 is offline  
post #18 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th November 2007, 20:19
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kremmen View Post
Yet again I find myself in the same boat as Brodick, mine has the same reception range as my previous car which had a roof mounted aerial.

Maybe they made some subtle changes for the 07 models ?
Well my piece of s**t radio is an 07.



FWH is offline  
post #19 of 25 (permalink) Old 5th November 2007, 20:34 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Munro's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Location: Scotland GB
Posts: 1,990
Thanks: 120
Thanked 170 Times in 131 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by cylon2007 View Post
Looks like all the other questions have been answered - ta guys
Only question 2 left - what routing was used for the cable from the aerial on the back window to the radio ?

Thanks for all the quick answers.

Only problem is I was originally thinking about a better aerial but am now thinking about a DAB player !! They are cheap on ebay though (@£35) - see link below.

Find Acoustic Soloutions ICS 100 FM In Car DAB Radio Adapter on eBay within DAB Digital Radio, Radios, Portable Audio, Consumer Electronics (end time 10-Nov-07 15:14:04 GMT)

Last edited by Munro; 5th November 2007 at 20:36.
Munro is offline  
post #20 of 25 (permalink) Old 8th November 2007, 10:36
 
Dunchan's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 2.2 iCTDi 5 door red
Join Date: 13th August 2007
Location: Livingston,West Lothian SCOTLAND
Posts: 26
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
The hired Vectra I used whilst my iCDTi was on order had a DAB radio. Reception was no problem in the central belt of Scotland. Reception very poor to not available outwith the higher population density areas. Absolutely no reception at all in tunnels!
Dunchan is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To - Upgrade the Horn campbell_p30 This is How To ... (Guides Only) (8G) 13 11th July 2013 09:09
Speakers Sony Speakers and amp upgrade. rammos Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 0 7th October 2007 21:49
Upgrade to sat nav & HFT?? askernlad Type-R 17 6th October 2007 07:52
Aerial ? Kremmen General Discussion (8G) 10 10th August 2007 11:35
Phone Mobile Upgrade Obo Electronics (8G) 15 16th May 2007 00:32

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome