AUX in connects2 box - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 9th November 2007, 17:37 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Join Date: 3rd November 2007
Location: Arnhem NL
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
connects2 box

Hello guys en girls

I want to know what i need to play MP3 on a non SAT/NAV radio?

I have heart about connect2 box but cant find exact the things so help me
darks0l is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 9th November 2007, 19:27
 
Join Date: 14th April 2007
Location: South Manchester/North Cheshire GB
Posts: 712
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
cylon2007 is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 9th November 2007, 19:30
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Have a look here too:
http://www.civinfo.com/wiki/index.ph...sing_connects2

You can play mp3s from a burned cd without any modifications.
If you want to connect a mp3 player, then a connects2 is what you want.



FWH is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 9th November 2007, 20:51 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 3rd November 2007
Location: Arnhem NL
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ok thank you and is it simple for the dealer to build it in? he has to build in a carkit also? And this is all i need?
darks0l is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 9th November 2007, 20:57
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darks0l View Post
ok thank you and is it simple for the dealer to build it in? he has to build in a carkit also? And this is all i need?
If the dealer doesnīt want to an ICE shop should be able to.

If you donīt have the original Honda satnav, then you donīt need anything more.

Donīt know what a carkit is?



FWH is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 10th November 2007, 06:46 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 3rd November 2007
Location: Arnhem NL
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
we called a mobile phone system a carkitt in Holland.

How do you get power from the connect2 boxen?? then i need the USB version???
darks0l is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 10th November 2007, 08:59
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darks0l View Post
we called a mobile phone system a carkitt in Holland.

How do you get power from the connect2 boxen?? then i need the USB version???

You donīt get power for it.
There is not a USB version yet, but I think one of our members is lobbying for it.

You need a seperate extra cigarette lighter type 12V connector for power. Connect that to the usb port via an adapter and use the headphone out to the connects2 box.



FWH is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 10th November 2007, 13:37 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 3rd November 2007
Location: Arnhem NL
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
but when i put a usb cable in my mp3 player its start to load te battery and i can't play music!!!
darks0l is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th November 2007, 15:56
 
Join Date: 2nd September 2007
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
so if i'm not mistaken I can buy the connects 2 module and conect it right to the back of the radio whitout making any changes ?? I tought there didnt existed a aux in yet???

is it posible to buy it here in belgium ?
c0smic is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th November 2007, 17:43
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0smic View Post
so if i'm not mistaken I can buy the connects 2 module and conect it right to the back of the radio whitout making any changes ?? I tought there didnt existed a aux in yet???

is it posible to buy it here in belgium ?
If you have a satnav car you will also need an extra loom.
It is all in the Wiki. http://www.civinfo.com/wiki/index.ph...sing_connects2

It is a bit of a DIY job and not an original Honda accessory.

Don´t know if there is a retailer in Belgium, but you can probably buy one on-line.



FWH is offline  
post #11 of 16 (permalink) Old 12th November 2007, 17:44
FWH
Supporter
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by darks0l View Post
but when i put a usb cable in my mp3 player its start to load te battery and i can't play music!!!
Sounds like you will have to run it off the battery then.



FWH is offline  
post #12 of 16 (permalink) Old 14th November 2007, 22:10
Supporter
 
matg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd September 2007
Location: Near Cambridge GB
Posts: 355
Thanks: 14
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FWH View Post
You don´t get power for it.
There is not a USB version yet, but I think one of our members is lobbying for it.
So the CTAHOIPOD001 which is the USB version does not work?

If I go to connects2.co.uk and enter my reg number it comes up as being available for my car.

Connects 2,Car Audio integration specialists

Last edited by matg; 14th November 2007 at 22:16.
matg is offline  
post #13 of 16 (permalink) Old 15th November 2007, 01:37
Supporter
 
apemonkeyman's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 5 door, Lumpy Black
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Upleadon, Gloucestershire ENGLAND
Posts: 699
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to apemonkeyman Send a message via Yahoo to apemonkeyman Send a message via Skype™ to apemonkeyman
Quote:
Originally Posted by FWH View Post
There is not a USB version yet, but I think one of our members is lobbying for it.
That'll be me then... http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...eir-civic.html ... update from Connects2 hopefully next week...

Quote:
Originally Posted by matg View Post
So the CTAHOIPOD001 which is the USB version does not work?

If I go to connects2.co.uk and enter my reg number it comes up as being available for my car.

Connects 2,Car Audio integration specialists
Looks to me like:

1) Purely an iPod adapter, not USB;
2) Listed for Pioneer head unit - our Civs all have Panasonic head units.

The USB interface will allow USB flash drive, USB hard drive, & SD memory card connection, as well as 3.5mm jack allowing any mp3 player to be connected. If playing music from flash/hdd/SD then you can use the car's audio controls to select tracks etc.

The USB listed for the Civic is for the 2001-2006 model which by the looks of it has an Alpine head unit (isn't that Pioneer?). I am chasing Connects2 for a version for the Panasonic unit... it is in the works.
apemonkeyman is offline  
post #14 of 16 (permalink) Old 15th November 2007, 10:25
Supporter
 
matg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23rd September 2007
Location: Near Cambridge GB
Posts: 355
Thanks: 14
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by apemonkeyman View Post
That'll be me then... http://www.civinfo.com/forum/ipods-m...eir-civic.html ... update from Connects2 hopefully next week...



Looks to me like:

1) Purely an iPod adapter, not USB;
2) Listed for Pioneer head unit - our Civs all have Panasonic head units.

The USB interface will allow USB flash drive, USB hard drive, & SD memory card connection, as well as 3.5mm jack allowing any mp3 player to be connected. If playing music from flash/hdd/SD then you can use the car's audio controls to select tracks etc.

The USB listed for the Civic is for the 2001-2006 model which by the looks of it has an Alpine head unit (isn't that Pioneer?). I am chasing Connects2 for a version for the Panasonic unit... it is in the works.
OK so its iPod only that's fine but why does it appear as being available for my car when I enter my registration number? I guess connects2 have a problem with their site.

What I'd really like to see is a Connects2 box that plugs into both the CD port for audio and the rear view camera port for video and at the other end connects to a iPod Touch
matg is offline  
post #15 of 16 (permalink) Old 15th November 2007, 12:17
 
Join Date: 17th April 2007
Posts: 93
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hmmm, still a bit confused here...

Is there or is there not a USB interface now available for my 2007 Civic EX?

An 250GB USB hard drive sitting in my glovebox would beat the crap out of an iPod for cost and convenience!
ukpm is offline  
post #16 of 16 (permalink) Old 15th November 2007, 12:21
Supporter
 
apemonkeyman's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 5 door, Lumpy Black
Join Date: 2nd February 2007
Location: Upleadon, Gloucestershire ENGLAND
Posts: 699
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to apemonkeyman Send a message via Yahoo to apemonkeyman Send a message via Skype™ to apemonkeyman
Quote:
Originally Posted by matg View Post
OK so its iPod only that's fine but why does it appear as being available for my car when I enter my registration number? I guess connects2 have a problem with their site.
Their site isn't up to date - they just list Civic 2001 onwards without the break point for the 2006+ model...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ukpm View Post
Hmmm, still a bit confused here...

Is there or is there not a USB interface now available for my 2007 Civic EX?

An 250GB USB hard drive sitting in my glovebox would beat the crap out of an iPod for cost and convenience!
Err... have you checked the thread I mentioned earlier? No there is not... as I said earlier, it is in the works...
apemonkeyman is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > 8th Generation Euro Honda Civic (2006 - 2011) > Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G)

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AUX in Connects2 adapter and Infinity installed !!! IronSoil Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 13 27th December 2008 11:44
AUX in Iphone connects2 or Dension in EX uk1simon Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 4 1st November 2007 00:38
Phone Parrot and Connects2 basegreen Electronics (8G) 4 6th October 2007 17:53
AUX in Connects2 USB Jabberwocky Ipods, MP3 Players and ICE (8G) 15 17th July 2007 16:59
Universal aux in using connects2 Colin Jolly Wiki Article Discussion 0 5th March 2007 16:32

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome