Engine light - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 12:03 Thread Starter
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Engine light

mornin all im after some advice i have done a search but not found anything my engine light is on ive crossed the blue 2 pin connector and my light flashes 6 times the only answer i found was crank sensor and it has just failed mot on emissions so would probably make sense any ideas please its a 1997 (registered) 1.5i ls vtec d15z8 thanks in advance

roy
jaguar982 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 12:26
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaguar982 View Post
mornin all im after some advice i have done a search but not found anything my engine light is on ive crossed the blue 2 pin connector and my light flashes 6 times the only answer i found was crank sensor and it has just failed mot on emissions so would probably make sense any ideas please its a 1997 (registered) 1.5i ls vtec d15z8 thanks in advance

roy
6 times??

How many slow flashes and how many fast flashes??

1 slow is 10 and 1 fast is 1. Thanks

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 12:43 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Sorry fast flashes code 6
jaguar982 is offline  
 
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 14:19
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Obd2 isn't??

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 14:22 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
no had a obd reader on it would not fit mine has 2 blue plugs
http://cdn.instructables.com/FWG/J39...S0AP.LARGE.jpg
jaguar982 is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 15:21
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaguar982 View Post
no had a obd reader on it would not fit mine has 2 blue plugs
http://cdn.instructables.com/FWG/J39...S0AP.LARGE.jpg
Ooooooooo obd1!!!! Ok.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 15:24
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
6 ECT - Engine Coolant Temperature Sensor

This is your error code.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 15:37 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks danny i have recently replaced my stuck themostat would that cause emissions to fail it does not light all the time and i dont now know what temp the new stat was the heater gauge does not go higher than it used to would i be able to reset it

have removed sensor plugs and cleaned connections disconnected battery to reset fault codes now to wait n see thanks again danny

roy

Last edited by jaguar982; 19th August 2012 at 17:00. Reason: more info
jaguar982 is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 16:53
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaguar982 View Post
Thanks danny i have recently replaced my stuck themostat would that cause emissions to fail it does not light all the time and i dont now know what temp the new stat was the heater gauge does not go higher than it used to would i be able to reset it
Thermostat and ECT are both different, you need to replace that aswell.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
Thanks to dannyd2134 from:
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 17:02 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
just read your new post i will have a look for it
jaguar982 is offline  
post #11 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 17:08
Cockup Specialist
 
Relic's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 Type 'S' GT, Bronze
Join Date: 31st August 2009
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 12,885
Thanks: 791
Thanked 1,690 Times in 1,437 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Relic is offline  
Thanks to Relic from:
post #12 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 18:08
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I wouldn't buy from lings though, good for the diagrams.

Get the ECT from somewhere else.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
post #13 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 19:07 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Is this the sensor at bottom of radiator?
jaguar982 is offline  
post #14 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 20:00
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaguar982 View Post
Is this the sensor at bottom of radiator?
Right in front of the thermostat on the bottom rad hose beside the thottle body.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
Thanks to dannyd2134 from:
post #15 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 22:02 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Now im confused sorry to be a pain just want to get it right i can see sensor on stat housing but i also have these
http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/4817/83230615ep8.jpg
jaguar982 is offline  
post #16 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 22:10
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaguar982 View Post
Now im confused sorry to be a pain just want to get it right i can see sensor on stat housing but i also have these
http://img119.imageshack.us/img119/4817/83230615ep8.jpg
The ECT sensor, not the sender unit.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
post #17 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 22:17 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
That pic shows ect sensor but thats the one under the dizzy at the front am i being stupid (dont answer that) so i have 3 one on stat housing +the other 2 in pic am i still doing the one on the stat housing at the rear of engine
jaguar982 is offline  
post #18 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 22:23
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaguar982 View Post
That pic shows ect sensor but thats the one under the dizzy at the front am i being stupid (dont answer that) so i have 3 one on stat housing +the other 2 in pic am i still doing the one on the stat housing at the rear of engine
Yes.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
Thanks to dannyd2134 from:
post #19 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 22:27 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Car: 1997 1.5 v-tec
Join Date: 18th August 2012
Location: uk ENGLAND
Posts: 23
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
great im off wednesday so will do then thanks for bein patient

roy
jaguar982 is offline  
post #20 of 43 (permalink) Old 19th August 2012, 22:48
 
dannyd2134's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2nd March 2011
Location: Staffordshire GB
Posts: 1,583
Thanks: 609
Thanked 177 Times in 162 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaguar982 View Post
great im off wednesday so will do then thanks for bein patient

roy
My pleasure. any time. :thumbup:

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
dannyd2134 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Other Hondas > Previous Civics

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Faults Glow plug warning light flashing and engine management light on. Gmac00 Engines and Transmission (8G) 74 10th September 2019 07:54
Indications Engine light on penzio Engines and Transmission (8G) 12 11th August 2012 19:47
Engine Check engine light- fault code P250A - Engine Oil Level Sensor Circuit waqar Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 1 29th April 2012 05:16
Indications engine light... fu_lay Engines and Transmission (8G) 8 21st February 2010 10:36
Engine ECU Engine light Nigel692 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 5 13th May 2009 23:21

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome