site browsing slow - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 6th October 2014, 18:48 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
sonar usbl's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 ctr,milano
Join Date: 8th September 2012
Location: surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 303
Thanks: 51
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
site browsing slow

has anyone else noticed in the last week or 2,that browsing the site has become a slow affair,im having to wait 5-10 seconds for pages to load,sometimes it freezes,its been fine for the 18 months iv been here,all of my other websites are fine and im running 150mb b/b,its as if suddenly their`s a massive hidden script file loading and running on each page
sonar usbl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 6th October 2014, 21:55
Supporter
 
civicnewbie's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 Aygo
Join Date: 18th December 2011
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,159
Thanks: 332
Thanked 847 Times in 734 Posts
iTrader: (12)
me too, thought it was my internet connection though, sometimes I wait a few seconds and then get a message "no data loaded" and I need to refresh
civicnewbie is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 6th October 2014, 22:19
Administrator
 
wanner69's Avatar
 
Car: Jaguar F Type V6S
Join Date: 25th August 2009
Location: Wirral ENGLAND
Posts: 15,491
Thanks: 3,571
Thanked 4,051 Times in 3,478 Posts
iTrader: (337)
Not experienced anything like that, all normal for me
wanner69 is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 6th October 2014, 22:36
Banned
 
Aqib's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd November 2011
Location: Glasgow, UK SCOTLAND
Posts: 7,705
Thanks: 296
Thanked 1,378 Times in 1,315 Posts
iTrader: (26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonar usbl View Post
has anyone else noticed in the last week or 2,that browsing the site has become a slow affair,im having to wait 5-10 seconds for pages to load,sometimes it freezes,its been fine for the 18 months iv been here,all of my other websites are fine and im running 150mb b/b,its as if suddenly their`s a massive hidden script file loading and running on each page

Any chance this is happening on iOS 8?
Aqib is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 7th October 2014, 20:47
Supporter
 
blkdragon's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 2.2 es i cdti, Silver
Join Date: 3rd August 2014
Location: plymouth,uk ENGLAND
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I keep getting black empty pages 💩
blkdragon is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 7th October 2014, 22:29
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So far I haven't notice anything being slow or blank pages.

I am using safari and it may be useful if people tell us which browser you are using so if there is any problem the 'tech' guys have something to go on
HappyMan is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 7th October 2014, 23:15
Type EX,A guy called Mark
 
markvirgo's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Peugeot 208 GTI, 208BHP
Join Date: 22nd June 2007
Location: Northamptonshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 201
Thanked 651 Times in 555 Posts
iTrader: (12)
Running Firefox, No problems for me. IOS 7 OK on iphone too.
markvirgo is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 8th October 2014, 00:14
Supporter
 
civicnewbie's Avatar
 
Car: 2014 Aygo
Join Date: 18th December 2011
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 3,159
Thanks: 332
Thanked 847 Times in 734 Posts
iTrader: (12)
Safari
civicnewbie is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 8th October 2014, 13:57
Supporter
 
WeHaveLiftOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20th September 2008
Location: England ENGLAND
Posts: 1,734
Thanks: 334
Thanked 251 Times in 209 Posts
iTrader: (4)
No problems for me on Chrome (or Chrome for Android either).
WeHaveLiftOff is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 11th October 2014, 14:13 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
sonar usbl's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 ctr,milano
Join Date: 8th September 2012
Location: surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 303
Thanks: 51
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Thanks all,its still happening. always...run windows 7 with IE11...it was fine until a few weeks ago and I haven't done any Msoft updates...its weird..pages freeze for 5 or so seconds then load fine..
sonar usbl is offline  
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 11th October 2014, 15:20
more torque than the mrs
 
deni.babe's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 2.2 type s gt blusilver
Join Date: 7th February 2010
Location: west midlands GB
Posts: 6,564
Thanks: 1,323
Thanked 1,798 Times in 1,568 Posts
iTrader: (22)
Garage
me too slow pages, its even popped up my antivirus( avast) a couple of times.. chrome browser..
deni.babe is offline  
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 11th October 2014, 21:25 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
sonar usbl's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 ctr,milano
Join Date: 8th September 2012
Location: surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 303
Thanks: 51
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by deni.babe View Post
me too slow pages, its even popped up my antivirus( avast) a couple of times.. chrome browser..

yeah,sophos has twice blocked embedded adverts from loading....iv used the site for 18 months hassle free,this issue seemed to coincide with the change of ownership and introduction of the shoutbox on the main page
sonar usbl is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 11th October 2014, 21:40
 
Join Date: 24th August 2013
Location: uk GB
Posts: 286
Thanks: 81
Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Yes, me too. Exactly the same symptoms. Thought it was just my computer....apparently not.
man shed is offline  
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 11th October 2014, 21:50 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
sonar usbl's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 ctr,milano
Join Date: 8th September 2012
Location: surrey ENGLAND
Posts: 303
Thanks: 51
Thanked 51 Times in 47 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
my money`s still on a really buggy script that's recently been introduced/modified...ususlly tell when the laptop fan goes into overdrive with the increase in processor power
sonar usbl is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 13th October 2014, 16:43
The Dugs Baws
 
dobe's Avatar
 
Car: CW-0575
Join Date: 20th February 2011
Location: Ayrshire GB
Posts: 3,507
Thanks: 588
Thanked 994 Times in 858 Posts
iTrader: (10)
It's starting to get on my tits.

I'm using safari on my phone and iPad and it's been crap the last week or so.

Takes ages to load a page, when you click on the wee blue arrow to take a page to the last persons post it doesn't work anymore it just loads the page at the first post.

The adverts popping up on every page has calmed down a bit though which was putting me off having a quick look without logging on.
dobe is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 13th October 2014, 19:43
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobe View Post
It's starting to get on my tits.

I'm using safari on my phone and iPad and it's been crap the last week or so.

Takes ages to load a page, when you click on the wee blue arrow to take a page to the last persons post it doesn't work anymore it just loads the page at the first post.

The adverts popping up on every page has calmed down a bit though which was putting me off having a quick look without logging on.
And are you logged in on your iPhone and iPad when using safari?
HappyMan is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 13th October 2014, 22:43
drives a shed now
 
Car: 2007 CTS GT i-shift
Join Date: 9th June 2013
Location: UK GB
Posts: 1,429
Thanks: 1,039
Thanked 514 Times in 420 Posts
iTrader: (3)
safari on iOS 8

civinfo .com timed out
/forum loads fine

chrome no issues!

Cleared History and Browsing data and homepage now loads fine in safari
onearmbandit is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 13th October 2014, 23:35
drives a shed now
 
Car: 2007 CTS GT i-shift
Join Date: 9th June 2013
Location: UK GB
Posts: 1,429
Thanks: 1,039
Thanked 514 Times in 420 Posts
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dobe View Post
It's starting to get on my tits.

I'm using safari on my phone and iPad and it's been crap the last week or so.

Takes ages to load a page, when you click on the wee blue arrow to take a page to the last persons post it doesn't work anymore it just loads the page at the first post.

The adverts popping up on every page has calmed down a bit though which was putting me off having a quick look without logging on.

Just tested and seems to work after clearing safari data and cache
onearmbandit is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Welcome > Site suggestions, feedback and rules

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potential Civic owner browsing this excellent site. Bezste Introduce yourself 19 11th August 2013 15:25
Mobile browsing Hullcivic1986 Site suggestions, feedback and rules 5 19th July 2011 17:46
Mobile browsing czechplastik Site suggestions, feedback and rules 12 20th October 2008 20:53
Site slow today - apologies Pottsy Site suggestions, feedback and rules 4 7th July 2007 22:42
Efficient browsing of forums (CivInfo) Fedorov Site suggestions, feedback and rules 6 9th October 2006 21:05

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome