Internet Explorer 7 - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th October 2006, 13:55 Thread Starter
Administrator
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Question Internet Explorer 7

Since the final version has been released today and many of you will upgrade to this (it will appear in Automatic Updates in the next few days), here are some tips (other than put it to one side and use Firefox or Opera instead):

Post Formatting Popups
To make the little popup boxes for things like inserting URLs work, you need to add this site to your list of Trusted Sites:

Tools > Internet Options > Security Tab
Under Trusted Sites press the 'sites' button
Add www.civinfo.com to the trusted sites list.

Next, you need to enable popups from this site.

Tools > Popup Blocker > Popup Blocker Settings
Add the following to the allowed list:
*civinfo.com

The above should allow the post formatting boxes to work.

The text is all funny!
IE7 uses 'Clear Type' fonts by default, regardless of the fact that you may have this switched off in Windows.

Some people like it, others hate it. If you hate it:

Tools > Internet Options > Advanced
Scroll down to 'Multimedia'
Untick 'Always use clear type for HTML'
Click OK

Alternatively, if you DO like it, you can make everything in Windows use it. (This works even if you don't have IE7, it's a Windows XP setting).

Right click a blank area of the desktop
Select Properties
Click the Appearance Tab
Press the Effects Button
Look for "Use the following method to smooth edges of screen fonts"
Change to 'Clear Type"
Click ok all the way back out.
Pottsy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th October 2006, 14:21
Supporter
 
Fedorov's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 Diesel, Sporty Blue
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks Pottsy, although on my clean 100% stable WinXP machine that is used everyday I've seen IE7 crash randomly 3 times now.

Been using Firefox 2.0 nightly builds for the last couple of months and I've not even seen it crash once...

Best thing about IE7 is it finally opens up "tabbed browsing" to the masses They'll hopefully see what they've been missing all these years.
Fedorov is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th October 2006, 14:54 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
I've just been using it for half an hour (just to check all is OK here) and it seems really slow to me. Back to FF and all is happy again!
Pottsy is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th October 2006, 21:25 Thread Starter
Administrator
** Thread starter **
 
Pottsy's Avatar
 
Car: Jag XF 3.0
Join Date: 10th April 2006
Location: Leics ENGLAND
Posts: 12,496
Thanks: 127
Thanked 2,774 Times in 824 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display
Send a message via Skype™ to Pottsy
Maybe because it looks like this...



Pottsy is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th October 2006, 22:14
 
Ancient Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th May 2006
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Toolbarmania or as I like to think of it - total insanity.
Ancient Nerd is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th October 2006, 22:25
Supporter
 
Fedorov's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 Diesel, Sporty Blue
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
LOL!!! Well I installed it at work as well and it is now causing problems with PSAPI.DLL on my system there.

Oh, also notice that CTFMON.EXE is now being loaded on windows startup, thanks for adding an extra running process to my machine Microsoft.....

Firefox 2.0 all the way
Fedorov is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th October 2006, 22:27
Supporter
 
generationgav's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to generationgav
Ouch!

Is that on Vista too?
generationgav is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 19th October 2006, 22:59
Super Moderator
 
TTDegs's Avatar
 
Car: '08 2.2 NHB CRV
Join Date: 4th August 2006
Location: Cardiff WALES
Posts: 7,762
Thanks: 97
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
iTrader: (3)
LOL

I'd like to see you work out which one was blocking the pop up!
TTDegs is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 21st October 2006, 11:16
 
Unguided's Avatar
 
Join Date: 4th June 2006
Location: London
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fedorov View Post
LOL!!! Well I installed it at work as well and it is now causing problems with PSAPI.DLL on my system there.

Oh, also notice that CTFMON.EXE is now being loaded on windows startup, thanks for adding an extra running process to my machine Microsoft.....

Firefox 2.0 all the way
Don't think ctfmon.exe has anything to with IE 7, I've not even got it installed use FF as well, but I do have ctfmon.exe as a running process. The process actually belongs to Microsoft Office.
Unguided is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 21st October 2006, 11:37
 
Ancient Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: 5th May 2006
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
ctfmon.exe is used for speech input. Details, and how to get rid of it are at http://support.microsoft.com/default...;EN-US;q282599
Ancient Nerd is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 21st October 2006, 20:00
Supporter
 
Fedorov's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 1.6 Diesel, Sporty Blue
Join Date: 15th April 2006
Posts: 785
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Thanks, I've discovered solutions to most of the problems over the last few days, my gripe with ctfmon is that I don't even have and NEVER have had Microsoft Office installed on this nice clean WinXP, IE7 has decided it needs to be there though and I don't really use IE7 but end up with an extra background process... oh well
Fedorov is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Welcome > Site suggestions, feedback and rules

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I love stealing your internet! Obo Any non Civic chat here please! 2 30th March 2007 13:12
Dealers internet or dealer dilemma Type S Bournemouth Buying, Dealers and Servicing 23 7th November 2006 14:34

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome