OBD Reader - Page 2 - Civinfo
 16Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #21 of 37 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2018, 16:40
Supporter
 
scaramanga's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 white orchid 1.6 dtec
Join Date: 9th May 2011
Location: cumbria ENGLAND
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 11
Thanked 131 Times in 130 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_G View Post
You quoted me out of context there. Clearly and obviously I was suggesting a thread dedicated to HDS/HIM buyers NOT the relatively simple OBD2 readers mentioned in the title of this thread.

OBD2 is a standard relating only to 'powertrain' codes, other error codes (e.g. ABS/VSA and body codes) fall outside that standard and, as such, the title of this thread may not attract the owners of the more advanced code readers, such as the Foxwell types that can also read ABS/VSA codes. Discussing OBD2 readers has been done to death over the years and perhaps the current thread title isn't particularly attractive?

I wish the Foxwell readers were a LOT cheaper, and then I'd buy one.
i only paid £85 for my nt630 but it was on a 24 hour sale at the time
well worth it in my book
even the £150 mark is worth it if you have regular use for 1
Jon_G likes this.
scaramanga is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 37 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2018, 17:43
Supporter
 
BobF's Avatar
 
Car: 59 Milano Type R
Join Date: 26th June 2012
Location: UK GB
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (1)
I bought one of these https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01ISDCH42/ , works fine on my 8th Gen Type R.

Plus, via Amazon, if it doesnt work, you just send it back with minimal fuss.
BobF is offline  
post #23 of 37 (permalink) Old 2nd February 2018, 20:00
Supporter
 
scaramanga's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 white orchid 1.6 dtec
Join Date: 9th May 2011
Location: cumbria ENGLAND
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 11
Thanked 131 Times in 130 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobF View Post
I bought one of these https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B01ISDCH42/ , works fine on my 8th Gen Type R.

Plus, via Amazon, if it doesnt work, you just send it back with minimal fuss.
thats fine for just basic engine codes but it wont read abs faults
scaramanga is offline  
Thanks to scaramanga from:
 
post #24 of 37 (permalink) Old 10th February 2018, 10:46
 
Join Date: 11th March 2017
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi everyone!

Long-time lurker, first time posting!

I was wondering about the difference in hardware quality, software reliability and range of features between the Foxwell readers (NT510 & NT630) and the Chinese clones of the HIM.

Foxwell appear to be a reputable company, so I gather that the units themselves are manafactured to a high standard. But what is their car-specific software like? I'm assuming that their 'Honda' software is created by Foxwell rather than Honda - does it work well? Also, does it provide all of the functionality that someone who wants to service their own car would require?

Finally, the quality of the Chinese HIM clones is probably not too good, but they do use the proprietary Honda HDS software, which is a real bonus. But does using one of these HIM clones pose any risks to the ECM?

Sorry for all of the questions in my first post, but I'd really like to find out as much info as possible before I decide which route to go down!
Merry Prankster is offline  
post #25 of 37 (permalink) Old 10th February 2018, 12:13
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,730
Thanks: 1,049
Thanked 1,263 Times in 1,040 Posts
iTrader: (1)
So far as I can tell (having only seen two!) the HIM clones come with pirate copies of the original HDS DVDs.

Some people won't use cloned HIMs to write to the ECM (so updating new injector IQAs, for example). But some people are very cautious...
Jon_G is offline  
post #26 of 37 (permalink) Old 11th February 2018, 16:19
Supporter
 
FergyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th September 2017
Location: Midlothian, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 487
Thanks: 27
Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Iíve just purchased a NT630 due for delivery tomorrow (amazon £114) need it for ABS Codes etc. Will keep you posted on build quality, functionality and ease of use.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
scaramanga and M8TJT like this.
FergyCiv is offline  
post #27 of 37 (permalink) Old 14th February 2018, 20:24
Supporter
 
FergyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th September 2017
Location: Midlothian, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 487
Thanks: 27
Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader: (0)
So got my reader yesterday and plugged it in to the OBD2 port. Fired right up. Itís very easy to use. Simple


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FergyCiv is offline  
post #28 of 37 (permalink) Old 14th February 2018, 20:34
Supporter
 
FergyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th September 2017
Location: Midlothian, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 487
Thanks: 27
Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Whoops pressed send there...

Conducted a full scan of the car and it told me that as expected one of my ABS sensors was open circuit (rear right) no having to google codes it tells you exactly what is wrong! Brilliant. As for quality it is very sturdy, comes in a solid plastic case too so it wonít get damaged easily in the garage! Overall well worth the £114 imo. Use it twice and thatís it paid for, local Honda garage charges £60. If youíre thinking about buying one, go for it! Its also cool just having a flick through all the software looking at the system of the car. Well worth it go buy one... or if youíre in Edinburgh you can come and use mine no probs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jon_G, canman and Farqui like this.
FergyCiv is offline  
post #29 of 37 (permalink) Old 14th February 2018, 20:52
Supporter
 
scaramanga's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 white orchid 1.6 dtec
Join Date: 9th May 2011
Location: cumbria ENGLAND
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 11
Thanked 131 Times in 130 Posts
iTrader: (1)
the right rear seams to be a comon 1 on the civic
i paid £13 on ebay for mine
still going strong after 12 months
FergyCiv likes this.
scaramanga is offline  
post #30 of 37 (permalink) Old 14th February 2018, 23:21
Supporter
 
FergyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th September 2017
Location: Midlothian, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 487
Thanks: 27
Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scaramanga View Post
the right rear seams to be a comon 1 on the civic
i paid £13 on ebay for mine
still going strong after 12 months


Nice price there. Certainly beats £120 for oem!! I paid £17 off eBay with 24 months warranty. Will be fitting it tomorrow along with discs all round, pads and new brake fluid. Got my order from coxmotorparts today which included brake fluid, coolant and a snazzy new funnel... the simple things eh lol. Busy day tomorrow but very excited to get Mr Honda all fresh
Farqui likes this.
FergyCiv is offline  
post #31 of 37 (permalink) Old 15th February 2018, 12:33
Supporter
 
scaramanga's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 white orchid 1.6 dtec
Join Date: 9th May 2011
Location: cumbria ENGLAND
Posts: 1,589
Thanks: 11
Thanked 131 Times in 130 Posts
iTrader: (1)
the sensor will probably be stuck in
just remove the disc break the old sensor off and if your carefull you can drill through the hole on the hub with a 10 mm drill bit to clear the remains of the old sensor
but be care full to just drill the sensor as the pickup ring is just behind you dont want to damage that
Jon_G likes this.
scaramanga is offline  
post #32 of 37 (permalink) Old 15th February 2018, 13:33
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,730
Thanks: 1,049
Thanked 1,263 Times in 1,040 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scaramanga View Post
the sensor will probably be stuck in
just remove the disc break the old sensor off and if your carefull you can drill through the hole on the hub with a 10 mm drill bit to clear the remains of the old sensor
but be care full to just drill the sensor as the pickup ring is just behind you dont want to damage that
Good advice!
Jon_G is offline  
post #33 of 37 (permalink) Old 15th February 2018, 15:32
 
Kwame-Flip's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5 door, Alabaster
Join Date: 24th February 2016
Location: Southport ENGLAND
Posts: 59
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FergyCiv View Post
Whoops pressed send there...

Conducted a full scan of the car and it told me that as expected one of my ABS sensors was open circuit (rear right) no having to google codes it tells you exactly what is wrong! Brilliant. As for quality it is very sturdy, comes in a solid plastic case too so it wonít get damaged easily in the garage! Overall well worth the £114 imo. Use it twice and thatís it paid for, local Honda garage charges £60. If youíre thinking about buying one, go for it! Its also cool just having a flick through all the software looking at the system of the car. Well worth it go buy one... or if youíre in Edinburgh you can come and use mine no probs


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I've been following this thread and coincidentally today my ABS started kicking in under very light braking, so definitely something going wrong there.

Did your code reader tell you that it was the rear right sensor specifically? Or simply that one sensor was faulty?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Kwame-Flip is offline  
post #34 of 37 (permalink) Old 15th February 2018, 18:19
Supporter
 
FergyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th September 2017
Location: Midlothian, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 487
Thanks: 27
Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwame-Flip View Post
I've been following this thread and coincidentally today my ABS started kicking in under very light braking, so definitely something going wrong there.

Did your code reader tell you that it was the rear right sensor specifically? Or simply that one sensor was faulty?

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk


Oh no youíre joking!! Has your ABS/VSA warning lights came on on the dash? It told me specifically that it was the right rear! Changed it today. 10mm bolt was rusty and rounded took me hours to get it out!! Changed the discs and pads as well. Will do the fronts next week I think


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FergyCiv is offline  
post #35 of 37 (permalink) Old 16th February 2018, 12:31
 
Kwame-Flip's Avatar
 
Car: 2006 2.2 5 door, Alabaster
Join Date: 24th February 2016
Location: Southport ENGLAND
Posts: 59
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FergyCiv View Post
Oh no youíre joking!! Has your ABS/VSA warning lights came on on the dash? It told me specifically that it was the right rear! Changed it today. 10mm bolt was rusty and rounded took me hours to get it out!! Changed the discs and pads as well. Will do the fronts next week I think


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I know, weird coincidence.
No lights that I've noticed, don't know if that points to a diagnosis.
Nice, seems like the right kit then.
Hours... I'll make sure I've got a good bit of time set aside if they're a pain to do.
Thanks

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Kwame-Flip is offline  
post #36 of 37 (permalink) Old 16th February 2018, 18:33
Supporter
 
FergyCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: 8th September 2017
Location: Midlothian, Scotland SCOTLAND
Posts: 487
Thanks: 27
Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kwame-Flip View Post
I know, weird coincidence.
No lights that I've noticed, don't know if that points to a diagnosis.
Nice, seems like the right kit then.
Hours... I'll make sure I've got a good bit of time set aside if they're a pain to do.
Thanks

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

Hmm... might be on its way out.. mine done that then intermittently and then solid. Only took hours because of that bolt being rounded, if it wasnít then it wouldíve been an hour job. Wheel off, Caliper, disc and then replace and put back together. Job done 🤙🏻 hopefully yours doesnít prove to be a pain in the neck if it happens!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FergyCiv is offline  
post #37 of 37 (permalink) Old 21st February 2018, 17:42
Supporter
 
cosmicma's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17th August 2013
Location: bolton uk ENGLAND
Posts: 1,159
Thanks: 62
Thanked 189 Times in 179 Posts
iTrader: (4)
new updates for honda and a lot of other makes 29 jan 2018 for the foxwell NT 630 pro if you havn't already updated
cosmicma is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > All Civics > Tools and Accessories

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Obd reader info Typersam1 Electronics (8G) 3 30th May 2016 22:37
Civ 8th generation (?) OBD reader RobTreasure General Discussion (8G) 4 9th September 2013 08:09
Computer Which OBD Reader???? ekcivic2010 Electronics (8G) 5 6th March 2013 11:20
Engine OBD 2? Reader - around North West michael3011 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 3 5th January 2012 20:12
Faults Obd MarkC Engines and Transmission (8G) 1 2nd July 2007 19:31

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome