Hi from newbie... and have a small concern with clutch - Civinfo

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 22nd September 2008, 12:15 Thread Starter

Hi from newbie... and have a small concern with clutch

Hi i'm a newbie here and cant wait to read through the forums... WIKI looks interesting

I have a wee concern, my type r's clutch pedal feels rough throughout its travel especially near the bottom of the travel on the way down and way up. sort of grating/rough feel through the shoes. Especially noticable with trainers on not so much with thick boots.

Its really bugging me. I feel it mostly when taking off and on the move when chaning gears.

When idling, or with the engine off and i push the pedal up and down i dont feel this?

Can anyone tell me whats wrong so when i visit the garage after my holidays i can hopefully go armed with some facts from civinfo... and not look like plonker

Thanks everyone.

PS I noticed a thread about clicking clutch pedal - mine does this too so at least i have some info on that and there seems to be a fix by replacing the Master Cylinder.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 23rd September 2008, 17:05

Hello & Welcome to the forum!

Ask any questions you like, we are a friendly bunch and here to help!

Maybe try another Civic when you're at the garage to see how it compares?

post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 23rd September 2008, 18:20
tpw

I had that to start with but after time it freed up.
I think it was the release bearing sliding on the spline. Its normally greased up so slides freely but when my car was stolen it stood in a compound for 4 months so wasnt used. Guess it got bit sticky just standing but freed up pretty quickly after.

See how it goes and stick it on your list for when you take the car in come service time and get them to have a look.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 24th September 2008, 09:10 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **

Hi