more questions about satnav retrofit - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 20:29 Thread Starter
whos farted?
 
_7cups's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th September 2008
Location: Merseyside GB
Posts: 30
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to _7cups
more questions about satnav retrofit

I know this might be a really stupid question,

But has anyone had the sat nav fitted after buying the CTR? or is it not possible?

Im crap with directions and rather then get a tomtom or whatever, I thought i might go and add some value to mr car while im at it...

is it possible...and does anyone have any idea of the cost?
_7cups is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 20:39
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
FWH is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 20:40
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I believe it's possible if you get the Full Honda unit but it isn't cheap. Maybe getting a separate Tomtom or Garmin might be cheaper.

This is what you need though :http://www.civinfo.com/forum/sale-wa...rtunately.html this was in the for sale section and is now sold but it gives you the idea of what you need.
HappyMan is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 20:42
 
Join Date: 10th August 2007
Posts: 10,247
Thanks: 77
Thanked 412 Times in 391 Posts
iTrader: (0)
There's an old thread on this subject here......

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/electro...v-install.html
Wheelchair is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 20:50 Thread Starter
whos farted?
** Thread starter **
 
_7cups's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th September 2008
Location: Merseyside GB
Posts: 30
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to _7cups
Can you not just take it to the dealer and say "flop us a sat nav in here" and cross his palm with silver?
_7cups is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 20:53
You're or your..........
 
NEEMSTAR's Avatar
 
Car: 630i
Join Date: 7th October 2007
Location: :noitacoL ENGLAND
Posts: 2,782
Thanks: 76
Thanked 119 Times in 117 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by _7cups View Post
Can you not just take it to the dealer and say "flop us a sat nav in here" and cross his palm with silver?
a lot of silver
NEEMSTAR is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 20:54
FWH
Administrator
 
FWH's Avatar
 
Car: MX-5, C6 Vette & MB S212
Join Date: 3rd June 2007
Location: Where Polar Bears roam the streets SE
Posts: 22,623
Thanks: 558
Thanked 1,029 Times in 772 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by _7cups View Post
Can you not just take it to the dealer and say "flop us a sat nav in here" and cross his palm with silver?
Not sure they would take that on.

But...silver talks.



FWH is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 21:00
Administrator
 
HappyMan's Avatar
 
Car: 2016 Ford Kuga Titanium
Join Date: 16th August 2007
Location: Wrocław, Poland PL
Posts: 19,165
Thanks: 713
Thanked 1,059 Times in 761 Posts
iTrader: (0)
...............and maybe gold!
HappyMan is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 21:04
Supporter
 
Jack The Lad.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 28th August 2007
Location: ENGLAND ENGLAND
Posts: 4,441
Thanks: 21
Thanked 274 Times in 266 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Has to be gold, can't trust the bl--din banks anymore.
Jack The Lad. is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 2nd October 2008, 21:07 Thread Starter
whos farted?
** Thread starter **
 
_7cups's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th September 2008
Location: Merseyside GB
Posts: 30
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to _7cups
tom tom it is then guys haha! theres noway im pulling my dash to bits, its odds on ill scratch and chew my baby up
_7cups is offline  
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2008, 01:09
Supporter
 
seiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19th September 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia AU
Posts: 42
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader: (0)
The job is possible and i think it's quite easy (i've done it ), but as others have said in other threads it's quite a big job, time wise it took me around 30 hours or so, as i had to refer to the service manual, if i were to do it again, i could do it in a night. There is quite a few parts that you need and can't be afraid to rip your entire dash open to thread the navi loom.

GENUINE HONDA CIVIC + TYPE-R SAT NAV/HANDS-FREE UPGRADE on eBay, also GPS Systems, Navigation GPS, In-Car Entertainment GPS, Cars, Parts Vehicles (end time 03-Oct-08 19:15:37 BST)

There's this guy who is selling the complete system. I don't think he has actually fitted this system though as he is providing the complete replacement loom of the car, you would need to pull apart the entire car to replace your current loom with the loom he is providing, the entire loom of the car goes from the engine bay, to under your dash, to your doors to the roof and right to the back of the car with the TMC antenna etc.... and it is all tied down on the crossbar under the dash, so that in itself is practically impossible, the smarter way would be separating the navi loom from the main car loom to do this job which is how i did it.

since your a support of the site, you can see how i did it in the supporters forum

Seik
seiken is offline  
Thanks to seiken from:
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2008, 07:56
BJJ IS NOT JUST FOR XMAS
 
illegalhunter's Avatar
 
Car: DS3
Join Date: 10th May 2007
Location: On the mat choking people SCOTLAND
Posts: 4,720
Thanks: 9
Thanked 137 Times in 122 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Its a brave man who takes that job on
illegalhunter is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 3rd October 2008, 11:20 Thread Starter
whos farted?
** Thread starter **
 
_7cups's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27th September 2008
Location: Merseyside GB
Posts: 30
Thanks: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to _7cups
ive already read how you did it, the bit that puts me off is a fiddlie bits, where your said big hands were a problem. Im a bodybuilder, so im abit big to be squeezing into small places lol!

although part of me is sayin just get it done lol! ill track this item tonight after work, cheers mate.

what are the issues re: warrenty and stuff like that with honda, im guessing it will be null and viod on any modification of the origional loom?
_7cups is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Civic Type R > Type-R

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrics Retrofit rain sensing wipers? Soichiro Electronics (8G) 17 25th January 2008 17:10
A few different questions Thomas Landberg General Discussion (8G) 7 1st September 2006 23:04
Satnav Satnav brand and other questions... IronSoil Electronics (8G) 10 15th August 2006 11:18

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome