Air con system faulty compressor clutch? - Civinfo
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Spooky_b329
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 29th April 2015, 11:11 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 7th April 2015
Location: Bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Air con system faulty compressor clutch?

Just took my type r for a service at Honda. They noticed my air con not working and have put 'suspect faulty compressor clutch, power supply also old, air con relay fitted but working at present'

Is this a common problem on the civic and how hard and costly is this to do didn't want to be talked in to anything at main dealer before doing some research myself first.

Thanks
Blake1312 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 29th April 2015, 11:54
Supporter
 
Dmitriysx's Avatar
 
Car: 2008 CTR-FN2, NHB
Join Date: 24th January 2013
Location: Belper, UK GB
Posts: 421
Thanks: 101
Thanked 53 Times in 52 Posts
iTrader: (3)
I had this a couple of years ago. Managed to get it all done under extended warranty. I've included a link below.

Hope you get it sorted mate.

http://www.civinfo.com/forum/general...or-needed.html
Dmitriysx is offline  
Old 29th April 2015, 12:54
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,645
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,114 Times in 3,811 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Have a peek at this thread for more info on a possible cause and assistance with diagnosis http://www.civinfo.com/forum/how/108...placement.html

Last edited by Farqui; 29th April 2015 at 12:56.
Farqui is offline  
 
Old 29th April 2015, 23:03 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 7th April 2015
Location: Bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
thanks for the above posts only had a month just hope its not going to be too costly at least nothing else was found on the service I suppose
Blake1312 is offline  
Old 29th April 2015, 23:41
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,645
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,114 Times in 3,811 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1312 View Post
thanks for the above posts only had a month just hope its not going to be too costly at least nothing else was found on the service I suppose
No probs.

If it's the clutch then its a cheaper fix.

Let's hope its a cheap fix
Farqui is offline  
Old 30th April 2015, 00:06 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 7th April 2015
Location: Bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Also what kind of labour time to check it? And also then replace? As not to sure how easy it is to access. Been looking for parts but just seem to find complete compressors
Blake1312 is offline  
Old 3rd May 2015, 16:34 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 7th April 2015
Location: Bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Will any civic air compressor fit as will try source a used one or is it engine percific.

> I checked the relay and it's still has the standard one which I believe Honda issued a replacement part for. If this relay has caused the air compressor to fail how far do you recon I could get with Honda UK to try get this under warranty. It's a 57plate 66,000 miles with Full Honda history.

Last edited by Blake1312; 4th May 2015 at 08:55.
Blake1312 is offline  
Old 5th May 2015, 15:24 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 7th April 2015
Location: Bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
***update****

Got the new relay today from Honda, fitted it and air con fired up straight away lovely and cold so very very happy.

Just surprised this wasn't checked when in for service but at least it's working now
Blake1312 is offline  
Old 5th May 2015, 15:25 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 7th April 2015
Location: Bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
***update****

Got the new relay today from Honda, fitted it and air con fired up straight away lovely and cold so very very happy.

Just surprised this wasn't checked when in for service but at least it's working now
Blake1312 is offline  
Old 5th May 2015, 15:47
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,645
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,114 Times in 3,811 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blake1312 View Post
***update****

Got the new relay today from Honda, fitted it and air con fired up straight away lovely and cold so very very happy.

Just surprised this wasn't checked when in for service but at least it's working now
Yay, what a result. for the WIN!

I wonder if the stealer would charge you lots of to fit a new compressor and then just fit a relay?
Farqui is offline  
Old 5th May 2015, 16:06 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 7th April 2015
Location: Bristol ENGLAND
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Farqui View Post
Yay, what a result. for the WIN!

I wonder if the stealer would charge you lots of to fit a new compressor and then just fit a relay?
Yeah thanks to this site has saved me a lot of

Did wonder that myself, just being a well known problem would have thought they would check that as so easy to access, but oh well all sorted now
Blake1312 is offline  
Old 5th May 2015, 16:19
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,645
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,114 Times in 3,811 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
I guess the chap doing your service either wasn't thorough, was too busy, didn't know about the old/bad aircon relay or perhaps he was day dreaming!
Farqui is offline  
Old 1st November 2016, 14:04
 
Friddy82's Avatar
 
Car: Bronze Type R GT
Join Date: 28th October 2016
Location: LCFC ENGLAND
Posts: 102
Thanks: 37
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
Hi guys, as you are aware I am new to the forum and decided to hijack this thread. My air-con only works for about 10-20 mins then starts warming up which in the summer was a night mare.
I changed the relay and still the same. I've managed to source a nearly new compressor and was wondering how much of a job to fit it myself. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

PS I hope it's right but the guy said its off of a type r FN2 so I would like to think it is correct.

Sent from my HTC One_** using Tapatalk
Friddy82 is offline  
Old 1st November 2016, 19:16
regrets his username
 
dweezle's Avatar
 
Car: 1.6 focus RS
Join Date: 6th April 2012
Location: Cornwall ENGLAND
Posts: 7,964
Thanks: 1,661
Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,217 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Have you had it re-gassed yet
dweezle is offline  
Old 1st November 2016, 19:20
 
Friddy82's Avatar
 
Car: Bronze Type R GT
Join Date: 28th October 2016
Location: LCFC ENGLAND
Posts: 102
Thanks: 37
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by dweezle View Post
Have you had it re-gassed yet
Yep. No leaks nothing. I took it to a guy and he said the clutch was shafted. Just need to install the new one but don't know what sort of a job it's gonna be.

Sent from my HTC One_** using Tapatalk
Friddy82 is offline  
Old 12th November 2016, 05:07
 
Join Date: 31st July 2013
Location: Sussex, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 39
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Friddy, exactly the same symptoms... Look at the shim replacement link above. Removed the shim and all fixed for free! Didn't even need the shim kit.

If you replace the compressor, you'll need to pay to get the system degassed, and then regassed afterwards. Please don't vent the gas at home, it's really damaging to the environment.
Farqui and Friddy82 like this.

Last edited by Spooky_b329; 12th November 2016 at 05:12.
Spooky_b329 is offline  
Thanks to Spooky_b329 from:
Old 12th November 2016, 10:32
 
Friddy82's Avatar
 
Car: Bronze Type R GT
Join Date: 28th October 2016
Location: LCFC ENGLAND
Posts: 102
Thanks: 37
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooky_b329 View Post
Friddy, exactly the same symptoms... Look at the shim replacement link above. Removed the shim and all fixed for free! Didn't even need the shim kit.

If you replace the compressor, you'll need to pay to get the system degassed, and then regassed afterwards. Please don't vent the gas at home, it's really damaging to the environment.
Cheers spooky, I will have a look if it ever stops raining.

Sent from my HTC One_** using Tapatalk
Friddy82 is offline  
 

  Civinfo > Civic Type R > Type-R

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Thread Tools



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AC/Heater Air Con Compressor,help needed! GhostRider17 Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 3 6th November 2014 19:11
Air-con compressor affects engine ECU? Capt Jack General Discussion (8G) 0 10th September 2013 14:40
AC/Heater Air Con Compressor lawmie Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 1 29th May 2010 15:20

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome