Fn2 battery 07 - Civinfo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 15:36 Thread Starter
 
rage07's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th August 2007
Location: Kent GB
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Fn2 battery 07

What batteries are peeps fitting to type R's these days as it looks like my original is on its last legs.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rage07 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 18:16
Type EX,A guy called Mark
 
markvirgo's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 Peugeot 208 GTI, 208BHP
Join Date: 22nd June 2007
Location: Northamptonshire ENGLAND
Posts: 3,435
Thanks: 201
Thanked 651 Times in 555 Posts
iTrader: (12)
markvirgo is offline  
Thanks to markvirgo from:
post #3 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 18:19 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rage07's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th August 2007
Location: Kent GB
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Ok cool thanks for that.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rage07 is offline  
 
post #4 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 19:45
regrets his username
 
dweezle's Avatar
 
Car: 1.6 focus RS
Join Date: 6th April 2012
Location: Cornwall ENGLAND
Posts: 7,964
Thanks: 1,661
Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,217 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Yuasa is the 1 you want, they're the company who Honda now use, Cox Honda did stock them but now says SOLD OUT, god knows what's going on with them but it's not looking good
dweezle is offline  
post #5 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 19:46 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rage07's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th August 2007
Location: Kent GB
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Is that better than Bosch.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rage07 is offline  
post #6 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 19:51
regrets his username
 
dweezle's Avatar
 
Car: 1.6 focus RS
Join Date: 6th April 2012
Location: Cornwall ENGLAND
Posts: 7,964
Thanks: 1,661
Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,217 Posts
iTrader: (8)
Yeah higher cold crankage the yuasa is 400A the Bosch is 300, just means a stronger start on cold mornings.
I'm not sure now but with the yuasa I had fitted you have to remove the plastic battery guard so the clamps sit tight
dweezle is offline  
post #7 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 19:52 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rage07's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th August 2007
Location: Kent GB
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
That sounds a lot better then.

Thanks dweezle should have the old girl up and running again soon.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rage07 is offline  
post #8 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 19:58 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rage07's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th August 2007
Location: Kent GB
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Dweezle. Which would you recommend the ybx5053 or the ybx3053.




Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rage07 is offline  
post #9 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 20:06
regrets his username
 
dweezle's Avatar
 
Car: 1.6 focus RS
Join Date: 6th April 2012
Location: Cornwall ENGLAND
Posts: 7,964
Thanks: 1,661
Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,217 Posts
iTrader: (8)
The one in marks link is the one that's popping up in the search, was over 2yrs since I had mine
dweezle is offline  
post #10 of 36 (permalink) Old 29th December 2015, 20:07 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rage07's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th August 2007
Location: Kent GB
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
Ok thanks will seek one out tomoz



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rage07 is offline  
post #11 of 36 (permalink) Old 11th January 2016, 00:04
Supporter
 
eddgreen's Avatar
 
Car: 07 NHB FN2 & 05 Accord toure
Join Date: 24th April 2009
Location: chesterfield uk ENGLAND
Posts: 239
Thanks: 52
Thanked 46 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dweezle View Post
Yeah higher cold crankage the yuasa is 400A the Bosch is 300, just means a stronger start on cold mornings.
I'm not sure now but with the yuasa I had fitted you have to remove the plastic battery guard so the clamps sit tight
That may be why my positive terminal won't clamp tight around the battery post, even thought the clamp is fully closed all the way!

Sent from my HTC One_** using Tapatalk
eddgreen is offline  
post #12 of 36 (permalink) Old 11th January 2016, 11:32
Supporter
 
distuio's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 CTR Silver
Join Date: 5th April 2014
Location: Kirkcaldy SCOTLAND
Posts: 66
Thanks: 7
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Garage
[QUOTE=eddgreen;3652314]That may be why my positive terminal won't clamp tight around the battery post, even thought the clamp is fully closed all the way!

I've just replaced my battery on my CTR with the Bosch one linked above and had the same problem. The +ve terminal wouldn't clamp properly. I cut an old junior hack saw blade to small pieces and put a piece down the side of the terminal to clamp it! Battery cover in place, clamp tight, happy
days!
distuio is offline  
post #13 of 36 (permalink) Old 11th January 2016, 12:32
Supporter
 
eddgreen's Avatar
 
Car: 07 NHB FN2 & 05 Accord toure
Join Date: 24th April 2009
Location: chesterfield uk ENGLAND
Posts: 239
Thanks: 52
Thanked 46 Times in 40 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I used a self tapping screw on mine

Sent from my HTC One_** using Tapatalk
eddgreen is offline  
post #14 of 36 (permalink) Old 11th January 2016, 18:16
regrets his username
 
dweezle's Avatar
 
Car: 1.6 focus RS
Join Date: 6th April 2012
Location: Cornwall ENGLAND
Posts: 7,964
Thanks: 1,661
Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,217 Posts
iTrader: (8)
You can buy terminal spacers/packers that simply slide over, terminals for jap cars are now narrower apparently
dweezle is offline  
post #15 of 36 (permalink) Old 11th January 2016, 18:19
regrets his username
 
dweezle's Avatar
 
Car: 1.6 focus RS
Join Date: 6th April 2012
Location: Cornwall ENGLAND
Posts: 7,964
Thanks: 1,661
Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,217 Posts
iTrader: (8)
dweezle is offline  
Thanks to dweezle from:
post #16 of 36 (permalink) Old 11th January 2016, 18:22
Civinfo Hobbyist Trader
 
Loxy's Avatar
 
Car: 2009 Championship White FN2
Join Date: 17th January 2010
Location: Lancashire GB
Posts: 6,694
Thanks: 1,561
Thanked 1,528 Times in 1,107 Posts
iTrader: (37)
Eco display
I thought the same about the +ve the first time I changed a battery on an FN2.

Turned out the clamp wasn't going onto the terminal enough to allow me to tighten it. I'd loosened it enough to get it off the old battery but I had to loosen it more to get it down to the bottom of the terminal. I could tighten it up properly then.
Loxy is offline  
Thanks to Loxy from:
post #17 of 36 (permalink) Old 11th January 2016, 18:37
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,477
Thanks: 379
Thanked 661 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (13)
^this.

I got the bosch s4, the 159 not the 158.
flashy is offline  
post #18 of 36 (permalink) Old 16th January 2016, 16:48
Unofficial Trader
 
Saint2K's Avatar
 
Car: NHB FN2 - Type R
Join Date: 27th December 2011
Location: Glasgow SCOTLAND
Posts: 2,080
Thanks: 270
Thanked 105 Times in 102 Posts
iTrader: (27)
I'm fitting the Yuasa battery tomorrow, hopefully once the snow lets up.

Will the existing plastic battery cover and clamp fit without any bother?
Saint2K is offline  
post #19 of 36 (permalink) Old 16th January 2016, 17:02
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,477
Thanks: 379
Thanked 661 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Mine is in the shed because the terminals are the other way around on the bosch I bought. Not sure about the yuasa
flashy is offline  
post #20 of 36 (permalink) Old 16th January 2016, 17:04 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
rage07's Avatar
 
Join Date: 9th August 2007
Location: Kent GB
Posts: 44
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader: (0)
I fitted the yuasa in december. I managed to fit and leave the plastic cover on. I had to push down on the clamp whilst tightening but was all ok and has been for the the 2 weeks.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
rage07 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Civic Type R > Type-R

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery Battery size for FN2 greencode Electronics (8G) 6 29th October 2015 21:23
FN2 battery issues and advice sniffer Electronics (8G) 5 3rd February 2015 18:23
FN2 Battery fire Type-R 17 1st January 2012 19:51
Battery Lightest FN2 Battery ash_rage Electronics (8G) 7 27th October 2011 19:01
Battery Battery for FN2 Pabby Electronics (8G) 7 17th October 2011 09:58

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome