Fn2 flat spot, lag, mid throttle - Civinfo
 7Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 10th May 2016, 08:09 Thread Starter
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Question Fn2 flat spot, lag, mid throttle

Hi guys, serial lurker in this forum, first of you guys are great for the wealth of knowledge and great advice given to others, please move to the right place.

So here goes I'm not the only one to describe this issue but I haven't found a solution.

My car is 07 fn2 40k miles. Well serviced as in: stock parts all from this year include rebuilt 3rd gear+clutch, new plugs, new gen air filter, Fuchs Titan 5w40 oil, the car is as intended by Honda except a quaife lsd (what a difference)

The problem I have is when the car is upto temp(not the cold kangarooing everyone seems to have) it has a hesitation from say 5% to 25% throttle when pressed fast it bogs down. I have read similar posts described a bit better than I can. I'm sure it's the same issue these cars suffer from. I have just changed lamba primary as this affects the a/f mix. Definitely feels like the car is wrong mix or timing is off,

It runs perfect at full vtec and also fine when just following the flow of traffic. This mid throttle lag hesitation thing is driving me bonkers.

Any ideas would be great I can't keep on throwing money on unnecessary parts I'm not tight but it's costing a fortune. A mechanic would say it's fine but I know it's just not right, i don't have hondata to log it as its a stock lump stock air box. 32ish mpg It prefers shell vpower. A old school mechanic said it could be a crank sensor, but I don't understand how it could be this. At 40k it can't be a stretched timing chain. This week I've considered going back to 5w30 oil but have been told oil would not do this. There is no engine light, the Valve clearance have not been done but they are quiet even from cold.

Please try your best guys I can't sell the car I saved a long long time for this car and couldn't take the hit selling it. I normally keep cars 7years plus. Thanks in advance Alex
chide1984 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 10th May 2016, 08:34
Supporter
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,323
Thanks: 376
Thanked 656 Times in 619 Posts
iTrader: (13)
When was the air filter last changed?
Wilmo likes this.
flashy is offline  
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 11th May 2016, 21:54
 
Mr_Frog's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR, Black
Join Date: 6th December 2015
Location: Bognor Regis PL
Posts: 191
Thanks: 49
Thanked 41 Times in 36 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Have you done service yourself or was it done by garage, or previous owner? Did you check air filter and pugs personally? I mean one of my previous cars had full service history with plugs marked up as changed and when i check them 4000 miles after this "service" there were looking like someone was using them for welding...
Mr_Frog is offline  
 
post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th May 2016, 08:08 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I do it myself, as I know it's done correctly, so I never put cheap parts on as I save tons in labour, I only ever use genuine parts and except a quaife helical diff. The car is standard,

It is a very mild fault but I'd happily pay to get rid of it. The are some old threads on here with the exact same issue but never a solution and I'm too new to send a pm to find if they ever cured it. I have the use of a high end snap on machine ob2 but don't want to take the peas by testing every sensor, as the guy is a funny old fart.
chide1984 is offline  
Thank You to chide1984 from 2 Users:
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th May 2016, 17:46
 
Mr_Frog's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR, Black
Join Date: 6th December 2015
Location: Bognor Regis PL
Posts: 191
Thanks: 49
Thanked 41 Times in 36 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chide1984 View Post
I do it myself, as I know it's done correctly,
Good! Fully agreed with that.

Would be good to check if car has stock ECU map... you know - previous owner migh have some modifications fitted and car mapped to them, then strip the mods and didn't return ECU to stock? Not sure if it's possible or how to check that without flashpro but if service was done properly there are not many things left... i don't think it's mechanical - must be electric / electronic fault. More likely electronic, as electrical failure wouldn't demonstrate just in one rev range.
Mr_Frog is offline  
post #6 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th May 2016, 20:50 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Hi I really appreciate the help, I'm sure I know the history of the car it was a female employees of Honda, then a garage kept toy for a jag owner, definitely not the hondata type of people.

I'm thinking I may need either the tps (I know it's dbw but don't what tps is on this system) tested and also throttle body and also the pedal box.
chide1984 is offline  
post #7 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th May 2016, 20:59
 
Mr_Frog's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 CTR, Black
Join Date: 6th December 2015
Location: Bognor Regis PL
Posts: 191
Thanks: 49
Thanked 41 Times in 36 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Oh, ok. Then forgive those boll***s i suggest Looks like you know what to do then.
Mr_Frog is offline  
post #8 of 43 (permalink) Old 12th May 2016, 20:59 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Also a could it be a timing issue I.e crank sensor or either cam sensors, is there a easy way to test them, with a volt meter. Chain would not be stretched I've only heard of this in racing scenario.
chide1984 is offline  
post #9 of 43 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 19:24 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I just cleaned my Pcv valve and it seemed to have made a difference. The is a new one in the post. So fingers crossed for a bigger improvement
chide1984 is offline  
post #10 of 43 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 22:05
Supporter
 
Vyse's Avatar
 
Join Date: 6th May 2012
Location: UK JP
Posts: 749
Thanks: 74
Thanked 62 Times in 55 Posts
iTrader: (1)
What do you use to clean the valve with? Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by chide1984 View Post
I just cleaned my Pcv valve and it seemed to have made a difference. The is a new one in the post. So fingers crossed for a bigger improvement
Vyse is offline  
post #11 of 43 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 22:29 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I used carb cleaner. My understanding is it's just a spring and ball bearing so I'm guessing even petrol would be ok, In the u.s it's a 3year service item so should be replaced but worth a clean just to see if there is an improvement (don't be to shocked if you find oil in there it's what it's designed to do)
chide1984 is offline  
post #12 of 43 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 22:37
Supporter
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,323
Thanks: 376
Thanked 656 Times in 619 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Got a pcv valve kit coming. Mine's shot.
flashy is offline  
post #13 of 43 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 22:38 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
From cox? Do you mind how much with postage
chide1984 is offline  
post #14 of 43 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 22:47
Supporter
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,323
Thanks: 376
Thanked 656 Times in 619 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Just over 40 quid. Been looking at valves on their own from the US but thought I'd replace the lot. Be worthwhile at the end of the day.
flashy is offline  
post #15 of 43 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 22:52 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I've got one coming from the u.s but I'm a stickler for genuine so I'll go to cox next month, I trimmed half inch of the pipe to give it a fresh seal. Do me or us a favour and come back with your thoughts if it improves the response of your engine.
chide1984 is offline  
post #16 of 43 (permalink) Old 16th May 2016, 22:59
Supporter
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,323
Thanks: 376
Thanked 656 Times in 619 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Will do.
flashy is offline  
post #17 of 43 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 11:14
Supporter
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,323
Thanks: 376
Thanked 656 Times in 619 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Very fast delivery, it arrived today. That's lunchtime sorted
flashy is offline  
post #18 of 43 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 11:27 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
10mm 1/4 socket to move ac pipe out the way. Pair long nose pliers for clamps and 17mm deep socket preferably using 1/2inch handle, easily done by anyone on here
chide1984 is offline  
post #19 of 43 (permalink) Old 17th May 2016, 19:37
Supporter
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,323
Thanks: 376
Thanked 656 Times in 619 Posts
iTrader: (13)
So far so good. I think changing a few things like this, plugs etc refreshes the car.
flashy is offline  
post #20 of 43 (permalink) Old 20th May 2016, 22:37 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
Join Date: 1st March 2015
Location: horsham west sussex ENGLAND
Posts: 48
Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader: (0)
After a few good drives. The Pcv valve has done the trick, I'd like to stress this won't cure a major problem,if you have a niggle that it's just not right and you have a tiny dip or lag or flat spot. It could be this valve. I searched everywhere to find an answer but didn't find one, my common sense and understanding says a Pcv can't affect performance like this but it does.Hope this helps and Im just sharing my experience. Thank you mrfrog and flashy
chide1984 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Civic Type R > Type-R

Tags
flat spot , fn2 , lag , lambda

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throttle lag TimD Type-R 13 16th May 2016 19:20
Tech 2007 fn2 flat spot mid throttle. chide1984 Engines and Transmission (8G) 6 10th May 2016 13:38
Performance Flat Spot On Light Throttle Macky10 Engines and Transmission (8G) 5 28th March 2014 22:36
Performance Serious Throttle Lag Relic Engines and Transmission (8G) 11 10th October 2009 08:12
Performance 2.2 Severe Flat spot/turbo lag DervDriver Engines and Transmission (8G) 7 5th March 2009 23:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome