Auxiliary belt FN2 - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10th May 2017, 09:38 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
leeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 9th gen
Join Date: 23rd January 2011
Location: Sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 253
Thanks: 33
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Auxiliary belt FN2

Had a MOT & Service yesterday at honda and was told due to the age of my car and milage the aux belt could do with changing?
2007 model with 85k on the clock, does that sound about right?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
leeb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10th May 2017, 16:35
Supporter
 
TommyBoy's Avatar
 
Car: 2010 FN2
Join Date: 28th January 2014
Location: Staffordshire, UK GB
Posts: 239
Thanks: 7
Thanked 34 Times in 33 Posts
iTrader: (7)
It isn't an expensive job so for peace of mind I'd get it replaced. Maybe not at Honda though to save labour cost.
TommyBoy is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10th May 2017, 16:49 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
leeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 9th gen
Join Date: 23rd January 2011
Location: Sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 253
Thanks: 33
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyBoy View Post
It isn't an expensive job so for peace of mind I'd get it replaced. Maybe not at Honda though to save labour cost.
Hi Tommyboy

It's £78 all in at honda!Not expensive I know just never had one replaced.
Thanks for your reply

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
leeb is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 10th May 2017, 17:10
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,842
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,154 Times in 3,850 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Is it worn, frayed, slipping, etc.
Farqui is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 11th May 2017, 23:27
 
Join Date: 31st August 2012
Location: england ENGLAND
Posts: 37
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I went to buy an aux belt for my Civic at local Honda and service guy said unless it is fraying / cracked they don't replace them and that his Integra had 135,000 miles on the clock and belt still original. Belt is Kevlar and polyurethane, built to last.
culzean is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 11th May 2017, 23:52
Bye bye Honda...
 
Jon_G's Avatar
 
Car: Volvo V60 VEA D4 (181)
Join Date: 11th May 2012
Location: Ludlow, UK ENGLAND
Posts: 5,776
Thanks: 1,051
Thanked 1,266 Times in 1,043 Posts
iTrader: (1)
Replaced my original belt at 155k miles / 9 years while undertaking the 'early i-CTDi shorter belt mod'... there was absolutely no signs of wear on the old one. If I wasn't doing the mod it would have stayed on, it'd be pretty obvious if it was worn or damaged.
Jon_G is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 12th May 2017, 07:07 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
leeb's Avatar
 
Car: 2015 9th gen
Join Date: 23rd January 2011
Location: Sheffield ENGLAND
Posts: 253
Thanks: 33
Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts
iTrader: (2)
Thanks for the replys heres a few pics.
I think it's fine! but like I said I've never had any issues or one replaces before

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
leeb is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 13th May 2017, 09:23
Supporter
 
lufc_lad's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Milano FN2
Join Date: 10th June 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK GB
Posts: 827
Thanks: 170
Thanked 141 Times in 120 Posts
iTrader: (2)
There is absolutely nothing wrong with your belt. It doesn't look to fraying at all.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
lufc_lad is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 13th May 2017, 09:33
Administrator
 
Farqui's Avatar
 
Car: x'06 2.2 EX FK3 Milano
Join Date: 29th April 2014
Location: n.Notts ENGLAND
Posts: 17,842
Thanks: 5,716
Thanked 4,154 Times in 3,850 Posts
iTrader: (31)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
How does it look along its entire length?

Check it whilst the engine is running, any concerns usually stand out then.
Farqui is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 20th May 2017, 19:16
 
rendalb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29th January 2014
Location: nr edinburgh SCOTLAND
Posts: 145
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader: (0)
If you're a bit mechanically minded I'd go ahead and change it yourself. Took me about 5 mins got a ratchet on the tensioner boom the belt was off. I asked Honda for a picture for the routing when I got the new belt as mine had snapped. The first Honda Edinburgh had ever heard of


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rendalb1 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Civic Type R > Type-R

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choices Auxiliary belt noise samsilva92 Engines and Transmission (8G) 13 1st December 2016 21:53
Auxiliary Belt smartn2 Honda CR-V 21 11th February 2016 21:09
Servicing Auxiliary belt change dieselmonkey Engines and Transmission (8G) 4 11th January 2016 16:00
Engine Auxiliary belt squilling Drejc Bugs, faults and irritations (8G) 1 9th November 2014 08:26
Servicing Auxiliary belt change? Trabant Dave Engines and Transmission (8G) 2 17th June 2011 20:47

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome