RDX 410 installation - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 18th July 2017, 22:43 Thread Starter
 
hondafn2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Deep Bronze FN2
Join Date: 15th January 2011
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 76
Thanks: 17
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
RDX 410 installation

Hi there

Need help to install my rdx 410.

Bought them with toyota clips, at this point all good... what i need to know is: its just unplug the oem clips and wires, and plug in into the toyota ones or we need to cut the wires and weld them?

cheers and thx
hondafn2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 18th July 2017, 23:18
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
But without knowing which is power, which is ground plus no point in just replacing the injectors, plus if you dont tell the ECM that they are bigger and to inject more fuel it is not going to help.
You also solder wires, not weld.

Soldering wires can be tricky if you've never done it before.
Grayfox is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 18th July 2017, 23:27
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,477
Thanks: 379
Thanked 661 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Hybrid racing do a good guide.
flashy is offline  
Thanks to flashy from:
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 19th July 2017, 04:40
250bhp.... finally :)
 
musegroove's Avatar
 
Car: 08 CTR, Milano Red
Join Date: 2nd September 2014
Location: manchester GB
Posts: 4,272
Thanks: 136
Thanked 430 Times in 410 Posts
iTrader: (8)
I was hoping they just unclipped and inserted into the new Toyota clips but the three specialists I asked cut and soldered them. Not a fan of solder in an engine bay especially so close to the heat source but glad I had them done as they feel smoother, quieter and got better mpg.

Mainly got them as my duty was close to 95% with my build, main thing to watch out for are failing Chinese knockoffs. Pay extra to ensure they're genuine Honda.
musegroove is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 19th July 2017, 08:04 Thread Starter
** Thread starter **
 
hondafn2's Avatar
 
Car: 2007 Deep Bronze FN2
Join Date: 15th January 2011
Location: Portugal PT
Posts: 76
Thanks: 17
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by musegroove View Post
I was hoping they just unclipped and inserted into the new Toyota clips but the three specialists I asked cut and soldered them. Not a fan of solder in an engine bay especially so close to the heat source but glad I had them done as they feel smoother, quieter and got better mpg.

Mainly got them as my duty was close to 95% with my build, main thing to watch out for are failing Chinese knockoffs. Pay extra to ensure they're genuine Honda.
I bought mine from Cpl with toyota clips but now need to find toyota wires to solder them... not a fan of solder too, also tought would be just insert in the toyota clips but was wrong then.
Dam luck
hondafn2 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 19th July 2017, 08:48
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,477
Thanks: 379
Thanked 661 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Can you not get plug and play clips for these then?
flashy is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 19th July 2017, 11:22
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashy View Post
Can you not get plug and play clips for these then?
Maybe, but you could also re pin them into a honda connector.
Grayfox is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 19th July 2017, 11:24
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,477
Thanks: 379
Thanked 661 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Which would be easier than soldering
flashy is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 19th July 2017, 12:41
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,011 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashy View Post
Which would be easier than soldering
Not if you've never done it before.

If your lucky they use the same kinds of pin connector which means just push the old one out, set it so it is ready for the new connector and insert.
Or cut the wire before the injector plug and crimp on new connectors and insert into the plug.

Just depends on how electrically savvy the OP is and if they have the correct tools.
Grayfox is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 20th July 2017, 20:57
 
pulpmelon_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12th December 2010
Location: Manchester GB
Posts: 1,612
Thanks: 25
Thanked 303 Times in 206 Posts
iTrader: (0)
When I did this on my EP3 I simply un-hooked the wires from the original clips using a safety pin, then poked them into the new clips?
pulpmelon_r is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 20th July 2017, 21:05
Enjoying life
 
flashy's Avatar
 
Car: '06 Cosmic Grey EP3 prem CTR
Join Date: 30th June 2015
Location: Swindon ENGLAND
Posts: 8,477
Thanks: 379
Thanked 661 Times in 624 Posts
iTrader: (13)
Which is similar to the hybrid racing guide
flashy is offline  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 27th July 2017, 08:56
Supporter
 
Join Date: 9th February 2016
Location: London uk GB
Posts: 201
Thanks: 8
Thanked 12 Times in 10 Posts
iTrader: (9)
RDX Fuel Injector Install - Hybridracing

They've made it look so easy, I need to swap my injectors and clips for different bigger ones and I was wondering how to change it all, following this will help.
Now I just need to know how to re wire the plugs themselves as the clips I'm using have already been cut off a car so have the 2 loose wires.
wadkins14 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > Civic Type R > Type-R

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acura RDX Injectors R555 Type-R 26 21st November 2011 13:34

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome