www.horizonleds.co.uk - Civinfo
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 15th October 2014, 10:13 Thread Starter
Supporter
 
Mike6's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd June 2011
Location: Wrexham, Wales WALES
Posts: 182
Thanks: 5
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
www.horizonleds.co.uk

Hi Everyone

I just wanted to make a little review on a company I have used to purchase LED bulbs.
Horizon LEDs | LED Fog Bulbs | Buy Car LED Bulbs


I bought 2 of these in Amber
T20 - 7440/3156 : T20/7440 - CREE LED 5W
and 4 of these in red
T20 - 7443/3157 : T20/7443 - CREE LED 5W (RETRO)


I did have a few niggles with the indicator bulbs in that they needed a resistor to work. I started with the 10w, then 25w, then 50w. The guys at Horizonleds were great they swapped the resistors for me very quickly.

The 50w resistors will be what you need for a 2008 civic 2.2
50W LED Canbus Error Free - Load Resistor Kit

I do get a pgm-fi error from the brake lights but this goes away on its own after a few days. I have thought about getting another resistor for the brake lights but as the error goes away I'll wait.


Pics to follow soon
Mike6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 21st October 2014, 02:40
Super Moderator
 
Grayfox's Avatar
 
Car: '11 Impreza R Special
Join Date: 1st February 2012
Location: NSW, Australia AU
Posts: 7,124
Thanks: 93
Thanked 1,010 Times in 891 Posts
iTrader: (0)
Eco display Eco display
Garage
The resistor you need depends on the current draw of the LEDs you get.

Stock wattage draw-LED bulb wattage draw=wattage needed to be used
wattage needed to be used÷car voltage=current needed to draw
car voltage÷current needed to draw=LOAD RESISTOR OHM RATING.

An example using a 7.5w LED bulb
21w-7.5w=13.5w
13.5w÷14.3v=0.95Amps
14.3v÷0.95Amps=15.1Ω

You dont need a resistor for the brake lights at all.

The PGM-FI error you are getting is something else, a loose cable?

I have LED brakelights and have no issues what so ever.
Grayfox is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 24th October 2014, 11:39 Thread Starter
Supporter
** Thread starter **
 
Mike6's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22nd June 2011
Location: Wrexham, Wales WALES
Posts: 182
Thanks: 5
Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts
iTrader: (0)
I put the 50w resistor up as thats the one that worked with the 5w bulbs for me. I started off at 10w which caused hyper flashing, sent them back and tried 25w still hyper flashing but 50w work great.

The brake lights are the same 5w bulbs and are the cause of the error. If i switch them for normal bulbs the error goes away straight away but with them The error will show up on the dash for a few days then go away. It is still logged if you plug in a error code reader but least it doesnt show up on the dash.

It maybe something specific to the UK modules as the company have not seen these problems else where before.
Mike6 is offline  
Reply

  Civinfo > All Civics > User Reviews

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Civinfo forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Your User Name is the name that appears by all your posts on the forum, and so should not be your email address.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Welcome From - www.HorizonLEDs.co.uk - Automotive Lighting Specialists *10% OFF! HorizonLEDs Introduce yourself 24 31st August 2015 17:53
10% Off @ www.ukcarcare.co.uk htfc06 Cleaning 1 11th August 2011 17:18

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome