2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

Have you had a flat battery on your Civic?

• Yes - it's a petrol Civic and I've had a flat battery

Votes: 112 17.9%
  • Yes - it's a diesel Civic and the battery let me down.

Votes: 239 38.3%
  • No - all is peachy, I love my little Civic

Votes: 273 43.8%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 483 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi there, newbie here.

My wife and I have owned the Civic since March 2006 and in that time it has needed the AA out to it three times, twice in the last week. The problem - a flat battery.
  • The first occasion (in July) was thought to have been a faulty battery which was replaced under warranty.
  • The second time the AA guy said it was the glovebox bulb, so removed it. Result - battery flat following day and no glovebox light.
  • Third time I drove the car straight to the dealer who spent the day trying to diagnose the fault. They now suspect a faulty alternator, which will be replaced next week.
The reason for my post follows a brief search around CivInfo for flat batteries. Interestingly every other incidence I found (there are a few!) were also on 2.2 CDTi EX models. Coincidentally, while I was at the dealer another CDTi Ex (black) was brought in with, you guessed it, a flat battery.

So if you own a Civic 2.2 CDTi (Ex or otherwise) and you've had any battery issues please respond. Honda seem clueless about this issue at this time - either that or they are trying to hide an issue. Post what happened, what the resolution was and whether it has happened again.:confused:

Thanks for the great board. Look forward to spending some time on here.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Thanks for all the responses. Looks as though there are a couple of flat batteries (all diesels). I should have asked whether the "no problem" responses were petrol or diesel I suppose...

I'll post if the garage find a cure (after fitting the new alternator).