2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone

It's my first post and I'm a newbie when it comes to cars so please go easy on me.

I'm about to buy a 2013 civic 1.6L i dtec mk9, 31k on the clock from a Honda dealer who has full service history. It's the EX model. I'm upgrading from a 2004 civic petrol.

I have just spent a couple of hours reading about the car on this forum. I have some questions I would be grateful if you could help answer.

This is my first diesel car, I do around 4-7k miles a year , would I experience DPF regen issues?

With 4-7k miles a year am I crazy getting a diesel? I only chose diesel to save on fuel costs as I read this car is fab on saving fuel costs due to his high MPG.

Do all diesel cars judder from cold when you drive off?

I read somewhere this car sounds like a "box of rattling spanners when drive off" from cold, is that your experience? Is this a diesel thing?

As I don't know much about cars, I drive short distances only occasionally I will do a 40-60mile round trip, that's like once every 5-7mths...would I therefore damage the car by doing this?

If I were to purchase it, would I have to service it at Honda or get the Air Con changed there as well as other things? my local garage is rather good (been with them for 7yrs now)?

After reading the reviews section and the problems and issues section I am really nervous that I am about to make the wrong decision. I've test driven the car and it felt great coming from my 2004 civic but now your posts have got me thinking as it's time to put money down or walk away.

Thanks so much for any responses I receive.

·
Registered
91 Posts
I just recently bought a 2014 1.6L IDTEC Civic, i also own a 2004 Civic Type R.