2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.

I've had my milano red civic si diesel for around 3 months now (it's a year old) and on washing it today I noticed the dreaded swirl marks.

Now, being a complete novice at cleaning cars I normally go for the easy all in one shampoo and wax, wheel clean and then rinse off option. On discovering the swirl marks, I wanted to give it a total refresh to get it as good as new.

On researching a few methods I now gather that there are a few stages in getting the best from a wash/polish. I'm thinking shampoo, clay treatment, polish and then sealant, and same for the wheels.

Can anyone recommend a process (with any products) from start to finish, and any tips I may need to carry it out.

It just dawned on me that after being warned about maintaining red paint, i've not really gave the car TLC it deserves.

I've already purchased Meguiar's Quik Clay Starter Kit, Bilberry wheel cleaner & poorboy sealant with some mitts and towels. I'd imagine a good decent shampoo won't be hard to find, but i'm rather confused with regards to polish and then sealant, especially when it comes to the delicate red finish on my civic.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks.

·
Premium Member
15,644 Posts
There are 3 products that I would use
Polish...GTechnik P1 ..Great on soft paint by hand
Wipe Down after with IPA (Alcohol)
Poorboys Black Hole Glaze..to enhance the Shine
Poorboys EX-P Sealer
OR
Wax..Many to choose from

·
FESTOOLIGAN
4,166 Posts
Hi.

I've had my milano red civic si diesel for around 3 months now (it's a year old) and on washing it today I noticed the dreaded swirl marks. Welcome to swirl city :p

Now, being a complete novice at cleaning cars I normally go for the easy all in one shampoo and wax, wheel clean and then rinse off option. On discovering the swirl marks, I wanted to give it a total refresh to get it as good as new.