2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone! :cool:

I have trawled through this great site hoping to find the big question I thought would be on the top of the pile - but it does not seem ever to have been asked :eek:

No doubt I will open a big can of :worms: now, but rather than re-invent the wheel again, here goes !

I'm new to Honda, with a brand new 09 CTR GT with 0 miles, do I:

A) Leave it completely standard and enjoy it as Honda intended.

or

B) Spend money and modify.

Having read all your posts, it would be interesting to see if you had the time over again with your cars, what would you do if you were starting from scratch again.

Hypothetically, if I go for option B, it would be a Hondata ecu, a hks exhaust and racing intake (simply don't like the look of the gruppe M scoop) - However coming from Diesel world (an S320 CDI) the BHP/£ ratio seems like ferrari money :rolleyes:

Over to you guys (and gals!) :popcorn2:

·
Registered
1,162 Posts
Well, modifying your car can get pretty expensive. And very addictive. An then there's insurance to think about etc.

You need to spend a lot of money on the Type-R to significantly improve Power, and you simply don't get your money back on this when the time does come to sell.

However, there's plenty of other stuff you can do such as cosmetics (think Rage Alloys and Splitters) or handling (Coilovers, Springs) or other stuff like brakes. Again, none of this comes particularly cheap although you can find some decent 2nd items available on this forum...

The Type-R is excellent in standard guise. There's no real need to change it, but it's nice to add a little personal touch :)

·
Registered
275 Posts
ide stay standard to be honnest. in my opinion if you want something quicker there are plenty of cars in the same price range quicker out of the box. CTR's are quick cars!......at leist dont void your warrenty just yet

·
ON A STEEL WOK I FRY