2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

It's been a few years since I posted here, but I've been driving Civics for the past 13 years. Alas, I think my time is coming to an end. My current ride (60-plate Type-S) has recently experienced a bunch of problems which I am avoiding fixing because I'm going to get a company car in a month and wont need it.

Details: I had the brake discs and pads replaced around this time last year but apparently the caliper on one side at the back seized up and the brake has now worn down to the metal and the disc now needs replacing again, as well as the calipers. A month ago a stone went through the A/C compressor and now its not de-misting or cooling. Tax is also due at the end of this month. I also dinked it (on a hard ******* CRV, which came out with no injuries) at a T-junction the other week and it still has a dent on the drivers wing. I was going to get a mate to beat this out instead of going through insurance but haven't got round to it yet. A local garage has quoted me almost £700 for new back brake discs, pads and calipers and £400 for the A/C fix. 70k miles, its in otherwise good (but definitely used) shape. The interior is worn but not terrible, as I like to keep it clean and tidy, although my wife and daughter have different views on that!

So, my question is, do I spend four figures on fixing up the car to sell on Auto-Trader and hope its worth it, or do I sell it to a second-hand dealer who might know some people who can do the work cheaper and take a hit on the resale value? I'm only expecting to get about £1.5-2.5k at this point.

·
Premium Member
245 Posts