2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

So I have been driving this car for 9 months now without any hassle apart from the A/C compressor not kicking in (Sweden is only warm like 2 months in the summer). I remember noticing as with every other new civic owner that the temp gauge did not rest in the middle which I now know is completely normal. Car has done about 17000km (10500 miles)

Today when I parked the car and idled just before shutting it down I saw the temp was close to 3/4 and I got frightened and turned it off directly. I turned on the ignition and checked the temp with my ODB2 Bluetooth adapter and an app called car info and the temperature read around 110c. I went back in to read up on this and also let the car cool down for a while.

I then tried to check the coolant level which was impossible with a phone torch when it's dark outside (why the heck do they put it in a completely unavailable place???), I did however open the radiator cap and could see clear green fluid in there when I shook it a bit. I also checked the oil dipstick and filler cap for signs of "goo" but all seemed well.

In order to check if the fans work or not I took the car for another drive around with a mix of highway and stop-and-go traffic while monitoring the temp in carinfo. while driving on the highway all is well and it sits at 85-95c but when I reach city traffic the temp does reach 100c+. I notice the temp gauge move slightly but it is not as bad as before so I decided to stop and let it idle for a bit while opening the bonnet to check the fans. None of the fans were spinning even though the temperature was pending between 105-110c which I think is not normal? The temp gauge only seems to move from 1/3 when the temperature climbs past 105c. I will check the cables and fuses tomorrow I guess.