2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to cars only been driving my 1st car 2.2 idtec for coming 2 years now. Am learning and doing as much as i can but was unaware of how to catch this problem.

What happened is I noticed 2 days ago my 1st to second shift felt very odd as if the clutch wasn't disconnecting from the rotation (even thought it was fully depressed) and it was grinding going into second. All other gears were ok so figured since it was only on cold starts that is was just the car adjusting to the colder weather. Well needless to say I was wrong.
Started a 3 hour drive yesterday morning and 30 mins in at 100kph engine check light comes on. Then traction control warning light followed few seconds later by steering symbol warning which came with a vibration through the wheel. So hazards and into the hard shoulder where i discovered the clutch fluid was completely empty under the bonnet.. little wet where the seal leads out of the reservoir so guess it was from there although from what I understand this is usually caused from the slave cylinder holding too much pressure and causing the rubber to wear and leak quicker.

I thought maybe the recent new mechanic had maybe damaged it while doing the other fluid or something, but apparently the first sign is a bit of give in the brakes before they catch on the wheel (almost like those old worn bike brakes where u needed a bit more pressure to get the bite). Anyway that brake thing has been an issue for a while but previous mechanic was useless and he checked them ages ago and said they were fine..so anyone not used to car issues this is one to remember save you breaking down on the side of the road with such a simple problem. Could have had this checked and fixed months ago if I knew this now.

Has anyone else had this on such a new car?