2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been thinking to install one for a while now, a lot of hit and run cases in London.

Anyone can recommend a few since I have no knowledge on dash cams at all.

Thanks in advance

·
4,562 Posts
Which?'s best buy is the Nextbase 612 GW at about £250 if you want 4k footage, followed closely by the Nextbase 312 GW @ about £95. I have the 312 and it's pretty good.

·
Administrator
18,084 Posts
If you're going to fit a dashcam then get a 2 channel unit so that you record action both front and rear.

I'm using a Thinkware F770 which works well. It's discrete and small - it doesn't have it's own screen, so you WiFi to it from your phone on the odd occasion that you need to.

If you are looking at this thread thru a browser, then scroll to the bottom to see related threads for you to peruse ;)

Let us know what you choose.

·
4,562 Posts
Thinkware X150, (not the one Farqui was referring to) is near the top of their 'Don't buy' list.

Which? Thinkware F750 comments.
Impressive features, footage is average55%
Built-in wi-fi, lane departure alerts, speed camera warnings.
No screen, poor low light video quality, fitted with sticky tape.
OVERALL VIDEO QUALITY DAY
3 out of 5
Some pixelation, but largely clear enough to make out details

OVERALL VIDEO QUALITY NIGHT
2 out of 5
Number plates can't be read from more than five metres away

EASE OF USE
3 out of 5
There's no screen so you can't easily tell where it's pointed and double-sided sticky tape means it's hard to reposition

·
Premium Member
940 Posts
Mine is £35 from Amazon, tiny, cannot see it installed, good enough to get numberplates in the day.. not so perfect at night... but it depends what you want

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Which?'s best buy is the Nextbase 612 GW at about £250 if you want 4k footage, followed closely by the Nextbase 312 GW @ about £95. I have the 312 and it's pretty good.