2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
325 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hmmm, day 2 of driving my new car to work, and it broke down on the way home :crying:

I was exiting a roundabout, and put my foot down a bit in 2nd gear, and it was like hitting a brick wall, all power was gone, and I nursed it to the side of the road where it stalled. The check engine light was on.
I tried starting it, but it cranked for 10 seconds with no sign of life, so I left it.
I called the AA, and while on the phone listening to some safety announcement, I gave it another try, and it started. I drove off slowly, as I know there is a lay-by a mile up the road, and it seemed to be ok...so I hung up the phone (hands free of course) and carried on.

I drove back to my workshop (I'm no mechanic, I make them shiny!) and tried to plug in my cheap ebay obd reader (works on my wife's audi) but it didn't connect.
I drove it home, and gave it some beans, and it seemed a lot better...but the engine light is still on.

Any clues or pointers? the MoT is booked for Monday, should I stop off somewhere and have the code read before then? It seems ok, so I'm going to carry on driving it...

Is there a way of resetting the light, just to see if it was a hiccup?

·
Administrator
17,966 Posts
Fault under power eh, oops.

Fuel filter maybe, when was it last serviced?

Was a pukka Honda filter used? - cheap alternatives aren't favoured by our derv's.

·
Administrator
17,966 Posts
Yeah, a poor fuel filter has been known to cause odd issues.

Changing it is a fairly awkward job, so often ignored.

As you say, it certainly can't hurt to swap it out, just ensure you get a Honda filter.

Try and get the codes read too, it may save you playing 'parts darts'.

·
250bhp.... finally :)
4,275 Posts
Get that code read and should hopefully point you straight to it.