2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
So I discovered a couple of scratches on my car today. I know there's loads of information about DIY Scratch fixing but I'm a newbie so was hoping for some clarifications with a couple of points.

The scratches are about 5 inches and are deep (I can provide pictures tomorrow). There is about 2mm of the body showing. There are also a fair number of stone chips (which are appearing white for some reason?) at the front which I wanted to address. I was going to go with chipsaway but I've heard mixed stories from them and I'm eager to try it myself. My car is the Milano red and I've seen the genuine honda touch up kit for around 15 squids on coxmotors.

So this is what I gather from my reading. I need to:
Clean the area well
Fill in the scratches giving time In between coats for the paint to cure
When the paint in the scratch has gone up to or above the level of the rest of the area - sand the scratch area slightly so it's smooth
Then apply the clear lacquer on top
Then is it time to polish? I don't have a machine but I do have a pair of elbows with a lot of grease.

My questions:
By sanding the scratch, I think it would be impossible to avoid sanding the "good" paint work around the scratch, wouldn't that mean I would have to paint that area if sanded too much or apply lacquer to it?
Are these touch up kits (basecoat and laquer) suitable for deep scratches to the body?
How long would a repair like this last?

I have another slightly unrelated question. The rear left bumper is fading, how effective are these 'paint restorers' like t-cut at bringing the colour back?

Finally, if it turns out a DIY job isn't the best idea, anyone recommend a body shop near blackburn?

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you!

·
i-Vtec
4,281 Posts