2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im out of touch with what's available now as havent been on here in ages.

What is the best aftermarket ECU and have thy sorted the immobiliser issue? What's the best induction kit? Still Gruppe M?

What gains do you get out of just an ECU and Gruppe M? Does it affect MPG adversely?

·
Premium Member
851 Posts
1. Flashpro is what most people use and is commonly known to be the best method of remapping the FN2. It's not a new ECU, but a tool used to flash the original ECU via the OBD2 port. FlashPro Civic Si

No immobilizer issues with Flashpro when used on the FN2.

3. From what I've read, the Mugen and Tegiwa intake give the best gains (fully enclosed kits and similar to OEM), but I have no direct experience with either of these (or any FN2 intake for that matter). Some might argue the CPL CAI and Injen are better as they're open cone and sit behind the bumper. HKS RSK is possibly the most popular, but due to it's position (and the fact it's open) in the engine bay it seems to suffer from heat soak. The open filter kits do sound better, if that's your sort of thing :evil:

3. The gains from a remap and intake will depend on what intake you use, I'd expect about 210-215bhp average, but with a much more noticeable increase in torque in the mid range.

4. Driven normally without thrashing, I've read plenty of people getting better MPG after a map.

Hope that helps, I've answered to the best of my knowledge and hope it's all at least about right :laugh:

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks swalesy, with the flashpro not being a swapped out ECU, does it not run a risk of bricking the OEM ECU and surely I'd have to take it back to a tuner to have it changed back to stock?

·
Premium Member
851 Posts