2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I’m new to Honda ownership and hoping someone can help shed some light on the electronic handbrake’s settings/functionality that I can’t find a definitive answer on. I have a 2019 Civic with a manual gearbox. Should the electronic handbrake automatically engage when the engine is turned off? I think it should, as I can see no reason you wouldn’t want the handbrake on if you’ve switched the car off. Unfortunately, I’m also new to electronic handbrakes and have already had a couple of close calls with the car moving once I’ve switched off and exited the vehicle without manually engaging. If it doesn't come on when the engine is switched off is there a way to change it to come on automatically?

Any help or advice would be really appreciated.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks azc, I’d already read that but wasn’t sure if it was an exhaustive list. The Brake Hold System doesn’t really help me as you need to remember and turn on every time you start the car (unless I’m wrong) which is just the same as having to remember to engage the handbrake switch every time you stop the car.

·
Registered
189 Posts
Yes thats true on the brake hold. But in my experience activating brake hold when you start up becomes second nature after a while.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
It might be a backup i.e get into the habit of switching it on when I startup and if I do forget to press the parking brake switch at least it'll kick in because Brake Hold was activated. Bit of a pain, but hopefully it'll become second nature. Thanks again.

·
Super Moderator
3,479 Posts
Just pretend it is an old fashioned car with the thumping great lever and pull it up every time you want the handbrake on.
An alternative is to have a sly butchers at the little red light to see if that car has conveniently done it for you.