2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to these forums but have been looking around, I have the 2.2 Ctdi Honda Civic EX 07 and I've owned it since late August. I've been getting an engine light that constantly comes and goes, I used an OBD 2 reader to get the code and looked at the problem online, I then took a video of the swirl valve, it seems to be moving differently to a video I saw so I'm guessing this confirms the problem, but I'm not sure where to start fixing it, does it need cleaning or do I need a new IMRC Valve/Sensor?

Sorry if I seem a bit vague or stupid, I'm quite new to cars, since this is my first. I'm not sure on what steps to take first and wouldn't really want to spend money on potential fixes that don't solve the problem since it's close to Christmas.

Thanks for reading, here's a partial link for a youtube video of the swirl valve, I can't post links yet since my post count needs to be 5 or greater. :frown2:

watch?v=G18q-Da4XT8

This is the movement on idle, it seems to move fine when accelerating but once idle it just twitches up and down and doesn't stop.

Edit: More info, the engine light was off when taking this video and before and after starting the engine it seemed to be closed/closing completely fine.

·
Bye bye Honda...
5,853 Posts
P2004 is a common i-CTDi fault code. It may be because the IMRC 'swirl' mechanism has become sticky or, more likely, the associated EVR controller has developed a fault.

I'm not sure (I have an earlier version of the engine with a different EVR) but you may be able to swop the IMRC and boost control EVRs to prove that one is faulty.

·
Premium Member
903 Posts
Hi mate, realy common problem. The exact part you need is:

Honda IMRC solenoid part no:
36190-RSR-E01