2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there

My name is Matt and I'm a long time Civic driver (had a 6th gen 1.4 and a 7th gen 1.6 Sport).

A couple of weeks ago, I crashed and wrote off my 2005 7th gen Sport (slid on a greasy road and crashed into a wall - I'm fine BTW ;) ). Had it since 2007, just passed its MOT and put new front tyres on it a couple of weeks before - disappointing!

So, once my insurance money comes through, and hopefully a little wiser for the experience I'll be off looking for an 8th gen. Hoping to snag an ES or EX - fancy a go of this cruise control business - my right ankle gives me trouble after a long drive thanks to a football injury.

Anyway, I joined up as part of my research. If the 8th gen passes the test drive, I'll let you know what I got and how I got on.

·
Civinfo's Bulb Supplier
13,427 Posts
Hello Matt and welcome to :civinfo: :)

Wish you good luck in finding the right car, cruise control is a big bonus for long drives. It is for this reason I now prefer autos too, I just be getting old!

·
Redline Monster
1,575 Posts
:hello2: mate & :welcome4: to :civinfo::thumbsup:

·
Registered
74 Posts
They are lovely cars mate I love my 2007 1.8 es, the sunroof is so cool :) I love mine puts a smile on my face. They are not slow and still comfortable enough for journeys with cruise and I get good mpg too, highly recommend

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Thank you all you friendly folks :)

After 7 years of driving a 1.6, why not look for a car with a little poke like the Type R?

Welcome!
It's a nice thought but I'm not going to be in a particular hurry for a while. Turn up late and in one piece, that's my new motto. A 1.8 will easily be quick enough for my requirements ;)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Thanks again for all the welcoming messages, this is probably the warmest welcome I've ever encountered on an internet forum :)