2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,
This is actually my very first post on any sort of internet forum :p

I have been looking to buy a car for over 6 months and have been struggling over Civic or Golf (boring?). Anyway, I test drove Civic 1.4 i-vtec and it was far better than what I expected, hence I decided to go for it.
Now, I do have a shameful inability of not being able to drive manual gearshift, so i-shift is an only option (which is miles better than my current 4 speed traditional automatic gearbox anyway).
I have been saving up some cash for this car and it's my very first car to purchase with my own money, so I am going through a lot of say..learnings as I am a total newbie when it comes to buying a car or a car valuation. I will list out what has happened to me, and would like to have some suggestions.
Here goes.

I was initially going for a p/x + cash payment for a 2nd hand approved civic. one I saw is being sold around £12,000. After doing some research, I came to the conclusion it was reasonably priced, and decided to go for it as long as I get a "good" deal (how optimistic was I?)
When I declared my interest, they suggested me a PCP deal, with a flat rate of 4.1%. They said the best thing about Honda finance is not hiding anything to the customer.
The problem is, I have been doing my small mathematics, and numbers didn't match.
With the total fee payable to be £12064.49, the initial payment would be£2800, hence the remaining is £9264.49.
For the remaining value, they quoted me I will be liable for
£176.85 x 36 months, and
£5397 including £150 admin fee for final payment (which is a guaranteed value at the end of 3 year span, which I can walk out by returning the car)
If I add the total payable amount, it is £11763.6.
What I don't understand is, even taking the consideration of flat rate compound interest, the total payable amount should stay at