2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Morning all,

Love the forum and have found loads of useful information on this forum and the wiki.

I used to sell the 8th gen from new so though making my choice would be easy but the more I look into it the further I get to making a decision.

To start I was looking at a 2.2 diesel es/sport because I loved the torque and assumed the engine to be built proof. The more I ve looked into it I m now leaning towards the petrol as I will be doing low mileage and have been warned that the diesel uses a lot of oil and can have issues with edf valve?? (I am no mechanic)

I ve got a maximum of 5k and I m looking for an 06/07 es/sport surely this is realistic?

Any advice is really appreciated.

Thanks John

Merry Christmas

·
Dervinator
1,349 Posts
The 2.2 uses next to NO oil

The EGR valve probably does need cleaning every ...say... 24k miles or so but there's an excellent "How-To" on here and it's not that hard to do.

Mileage = Smileage. You don't get that much more mpg in town running vs the Petrol but The easy driving style of the derv is great. Whatever extra economy is just a bonus.

Do NOT let those things be the deciding factor though.

The Derv is prone to Clutch/DMF issues PARTICULARLY if you remap.
Mine is an 07 and is now on 111K miles. Clutch is still ok but I bought the vehicle at 98k miles and obviously don't know when/if it was changed.

Take both for a test drive and see which one you prefer.

·
Premium Member
512 Posts
The "2.2 engine is very reliable if serviced correctly , there is on here well documented issues with clutch slip problems, so try before you buy, you may get a high miler for that money

·
Registered
815 Posts
Welcome

Greetings,
Dark Flemish

Reactions: Johnboymk1

·
Premium Member
52 Posts