2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

81 - 100 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Honda Service won't upgrade without fee

So I got a weird one.
2016 Honda Civic Hatchback pretty sure I have RC6 (0C.091.01.0021)
I'm trying to upgrade to RC8 as the DAB audio will turn itself off.
I've been once before and just wanted to update to RC8 as heard good things about it but they said they only update if there's an issue.

Well now I do have an issue and when I called them to see if they can do it (don't want to arrive again and be turned away) they said they'll have to run diagnostics and it'll cost 140 quid.
Anyone else experienced this or got any suggestions? Is it just because the unit is out of warranty (not sure if it is)?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
In Portugal my 2015 Civic have 5 years warranty so the update was free because i complained about bluetooth calls.

Your car is not in warranty period? If it is i guess they have to check it for free.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
432 Posts
Hi,

Can anyone provide advice on how to match the version number on the screen to the RC number so I know what RC number mine is?

The car has full Honda history but I have a sneaking suspicion its never been upgraded

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
If you look at the XDA developers websitehttps://forum.xda-developers.com/general/security/honda-connect-android-t3179549/page176/page176 you should be able to suss it out from that.

By the way that thread gives a lot of good info re sideloading apps.

Charles
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
432 Posts
If you look at the XDA developers websitehttps://forum.xda-developers.com/general/security/honda-connect-android-t3179549/page176/page176 you should be able to suss it out from that.

By the way that thread gives a lot of good info re sideloading apps.

Charles
Thanks for that, it appears that simple things are not as straight forward as they should be with this device
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
432 Posts
If you look at the XDA developers websitehttps://forum.xda-developers.com/general/security/honda-connect-android-t3179549/page176/page176 you should be able to suss it out from that.

By the way that thread gives a lot of good info re sideloading apps.

Charles
So I did the button combo and I don't get any sub menu it just boot again, takes a while with a white H logo and now my satnav won't launch, any ideas?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
432 Posts
Ok sorry it is loading just took ages to load up but the button combo does nothing, just some kind of soft reset
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
432 Posts
Got there in the end, you have to press the buttons in a different order to what is stated in that post.

If anyone's interested, my car is a 2015, serviced every year at a Honda main dealer by the previous owner and the Connect unit has never been updated.

Luckily I've managed to get it booked in at a dealer who offered to do the RC8 update for a very sensible price, just got to wait 2 weeks and hope it doesn't get bricked. Thanks for the info.

Now I need to find a replacement phone with MirrorLink, any suggestions on an Android phone that works with RC8 appreciated, especially if it can display Android Auto on the car screen
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,499 Posts
Got there in the end, you have to press the buttons in a different order to what is stated in that post.

If anyone's interested, my car is a 2015, serviced every year at a Honda main dealer by the previous owner and the Connect unit has never been updated.

Luckily I've managed to get it booked in at a dealer who offered to do the RC8 update for a very sensible price, just got to wait 2 weeks and hope it doesn't get bricked. Thanks for the info.

Now I need to find a replacement phone with MirrorLink, any suggestions on an Android phone that works with RC8 appreciated, especially if it can display Android Auto on the car screen
Hey Buddy.

Why not update to RC8 yourself?
It is really very simple, 3x USB sticks and inserted into the USB port in the car in the correct order with the right file written to it that suits your headunit in the root of each memory card. It'll be a lot cheaper buying 3x USB sticks than the garage price and while worrying, is a complete non-event. I did mine twice now and did not have a problem, I kept the car running so as to avoid the radio going off while doing it. I've also rooted mine to allow me to install apps again now it's running RC8.
I am curious how much they are charging to do it though?

I am using a Samsung Note 9 and that works via Mirrorlink all ok, it's not the best system compared to Android Auto and is a little clunky, but it now works.
On the subject of Android Auto you will never have it sadly, unless you buy a 10G which comes standard with it. All 9G's will never recevie it as an update.
The other option is to replace the head unit with a 3rd party Android unit which does have Android Auto and Apple Car Play, which is a viable option if you're ok going that far.

Ian Contessa
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
432 Posts
It's not worth the hassle just going to let the dealer do it and get the maps updated while I'm at it that way it's fully up to date and I can fall back on the built in nav if my phone still doesn't work with it.

Is there a list of working android phones with RC8 anywhere?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Hello, greetings from Cyprus. I read the post and I found very interesting the fact that we can update the firmware of our head unit.
I own a UK made Honda 9G ( FK3 ). I tried the directions as described above and in the pdfs for updating to the RC8 version. When I am at the base menu and I plug the USB in order to start the update procedure there is a message telling me "cannot complete procedure". I will poSt a photo.
My question is how mandatory is the 16GB usb drive? I tried with a 4GB and a 32GB and I had the same result. Both drives were FAT32 formatted as NTFS is not supported.

Sent from my BBD100-1 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Alright I managed to perform the update inscribed above. My mistake was not RTFM properly. The first step (1st usb) wasn't necessary to perform as I was already at version 31.00cf.

Sent from my BBD100-1 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
So,
Coming back to the subject to Be or Not to Be, I decided not to change HU. Is there a way to check if my car has extra external amp or is it integrated in the HU? It will make a great deal to have pre-outs to feed a good amp and OEM speakers, not the factory ones...

Sent from my BBD100-1 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Recently updated to RC8 succesfully, which I probably shouldn't have done in hindsight given that the USB ports in the armrest can no longer be used to install third party apps. My fault entirely, should have thoroughly read the thread first!

My Civic doesn't have a navi unit, so no CD player eject button to release and flip the screen. Tried fiddling around with it but couldn't see a way of getting to the hidden USB port.

The XDA developers thread suggest downgrading back to RC6 to maintain USB installation access in the armrest unit. Does anyone have the original RC6 files and matrix to give this a go?.

MB

UPDATE
So I managed to downgrade my head unit to RC6 to re-enable third party app installation successfully. Write up link below.

I have also read that you can update to RC8, but skip the last step of factory reset to maintain third party app installation via USB. I haven't done this yet as I plan to see how the unit performs in its current state.

MB
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
87 Posts
Hi did you definitely have the factory reset after the update? Just wondered as I have the same unit as you and it went the same way shortly after RC8 update. Turned out that the app I had on to rotate screen orientation needed to be stopped whilst I updated Sygic.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Recently updated to RC8 succesfully, which I probably shouldn't have done in hindsight given that the USB ports in the armrest can no longer be used to install third party apps. My fault entirely, should have thoroughly read the thread first!

My Civic doesn't have a navi unit, so no CD player eject button to release and flip the screen. Tried fiddling around with it but couldn't see a way of getting to the hidden USB port.

The XDA developers thread suggest downgrading back to RC6 to maintain USB installation access in the armrest unit. Does anyone have the original RC6 files and matrix to give this a go?.

MB
There is a a cool guide, I believe on the XDA forum that shows how to remove the HU that doesn't have Disc Drive option and shows how to remove the face and reveal the hidden USB port.
I did it whilst on RC8.
Requires some skill and a laptop to inject the necessary apps. I successfully installed afterwards, Sygic and Torque.
I will try steal some time to do it again with photos to add a permanent USB flat ribbon cable extension.

Sent from my BBD100-1 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
I have an Asian Honda HR-V that is fitted with an audio navi head unit bought from ebay UK. The unit was fully functional until I tried to change the skin through system settings and it got stuck on "H" logo and is not fully booting up. searching different forums I decided to try and update to RC8. The unit is 6VP0 and I started with AUD31CF in USB , I got the warning "There was a problem during the update. Please switch off the vehicle then restart to retry".
Any workaround to some how recover the unit ?
20200226_143033[1].jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Is there a simple way to see if my car has been updated or what version it is running. I have a late 2016 se +nav if that makes any difference.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Is there a simple way to see if my car has been updated or what version it is running. I have a late 2016 se +nav if that makes any difference.
I believe there is only one way of checking version, you need to access system diagnostic page to compare the TEGRA build files. If you follow the first set instructions of the Honda Service Bulletin pdf file you will see how to view this information on your head unit.

I would say that if your Main Soft is 31.00.cc or less you are likely running RC3-RC5

312020

MB
 
81 - 100 of 101 Posts
Top