2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
iPod link et al

This all seems to be a rather unwieldy approach to integrating an iPod into ones Civic. What's wrong with an FM transmitter e.g. Griffin iTrip? At approx £29.00. not an expensive solution. It doesn't have 'through charging' I admit but other similar devices e.g. Airplay2 do. There are allegations that their sound quality is poor but against the backround noises of a moving car that is less important. I have several years experience using an iTrip mini with no real problems.

Dunchan

(2.2 Civic CDTi ES on order.)

·
Registered
71 Posts
I had this fitted to my car a few weeks ago before I knew of the systems "limits" - it is being removed next Monday :(

·
Silver Bullet Supporter
263 Posts
This all seems to be a rather unwieldy approach to integrating an iPod into ones Civic. What's wrong with an FM transmitter e.g. Griffin iTrip? At approx £29.00. not an expensive solution. It doesn't have 'through charging' I admit but other similar devices e.g. Airplay2 do. There are allegations that their sound quality is poor but against the backround noises of a moving car that is less important. I have several years experience using an iTrip mini with no real problems.

Dunchan

(2.2 Civic CDTi ES on order.)
Do you or have you ever driven in or around London? Griffin iTrip = Bad reception and poor sound quality. In my opinion a waste of money. Am currently seeking other alternatives (not that there are many). Still I'm not going to pay Honda £ 300 odd to fit a cable where i cant choose my songs through the radio!!! Honda really need to sort this out !!

·
Registered
26 Posts
Odd that, I have used my iTrip throughout the U.K. (But not London), and Spain and France without any problems. I did however have to retune in Skye because of a local radio station. Persevere, you will find an unused frequency that you can transmit on I'm quite sure.

·
Premium Member
308 Posts