2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Civic ES I-VTEC Mk8 (FK27) Black year 2009:

So working in London I've found my current 3.7L Merc SL is a little thirsty hence decided to get a commuter car.
Researching what was on offer my budget the Civic VTech ticked the most boxes as is nippy and economical !

I picked up the my Honda Civic yesterday, private sale and got a 2009 with 120K miles for £1200 !!
The engine is sweet, no leaks, the steering handling and suspension feel tight too ! I commuted in today and got 38mpg I Was getting 22mpg before !!

Got it cheaper as its needing a new rear bumper, and the heater fan is really noisy and not working as it should, luckily as an engineer I should be able to sort them.

So here are my questions:
1. As there are so many variants, what is the correct term most people refer to my car as? Honda Civic Hatch MK8? also is the FK27 that model type?
2. The blower fan is really noisy and was working with the controls but now just stays on one speed. I removed the blower fan which is bit tricky as you have to move the clutch pedal out of the way, the fan hamster cage looked okay, but suspect the bearing has gone as it sounds rough tried spraying WD40 no change, so have ordered a new one. Do you think the controls will start working when I fit the new fan, or should I change the heater resistor and where is it located?
3. I have the cruise button, it shows up on the dash, but how do I use it?
4. Lastly whilst under the car I noticed a spare plug, perhaps for the satnav (which I do not have) can this be retro-fitted in if I buy one of eBay?

thanks in advance sorry for being so un-knowledgeable , here to learn from you guys !
P.S what is the correct forum page for my car.
Alex

Attachments

·
i-Vtec
5,150 Posts