2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got feeling g my sat nav seems to be very old I would like to know how do you update it or how do you find with SD card or the DVDs for the sat nav and any tips and tricks for easy setting up the sat nav to the latest version,


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
21,042 Posts
With the 2012 - 2015 Alpine 9G Nav unit, all you can do is get a dealer update at circa £170.

There is no backdoor method of any form like there was for the 8G.

Each update is coded to your VIN No so even if you get someone elses DVD if they've done their own it won't work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
With the 2012 - 2015 Alpine 9G Nav unit, all you can do is get a dealer update at circa £170.

There is no backdoor method of any form like there was for the 8G.

Each update is coded to your VIN No so even if you get someone elses DVD if they've done their own it won't work.


That's really sucks. Anyway to make money I hate going to dealers simple fact they charge fortune and middle class person it's impossible. Abu whooo thanks helps me and anyone who had issue


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Ex-Pat Geordie!
Joined
·
2,319 Posts
In my 2015 it must have the updated version as it's done free via USB... Plug it into the car and select update maps, the system downloads in licence number etc. Then you go to garmin.co.uk/honda and there you get a download for Garmin Express... You then follow the instructions and download the latest maps onto the USB, took almost 2hrs. Only plug the USB into your car for the update if you have plenty of time. I waited till my journey to work this morning and it took about half an hour.

Oh! and you do get a warning saying if you download it into multiple vehicles, their systems will be locked down
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
221 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Np I figured it on mine is old version so it's £170 for disc. Bit newer one are like yours way to tell is on system info it will say Garmin. Mine it doesn't :(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
21,042 Posts
I wouldn't be too upset, the Honda Connect still has issues, even in the 10G.

I didn't change mine in March 2016 because of the HC issues reported here.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top