2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, so I've just purchased my first civic and i'm keen to understand some information on the infotainment system. Its a 2016 model. I believe just built prior to the latest model.

The dealer told me that it has no Android Auto or Sat Nav. I assume this to be correct. It does however have an android based system that will be updated to the latest version for when I pick it up. (assuming it requires an update)

So in my ideal world I would like to have the following available.

Waze
Spotify.

I've seen some info on playing around with the unit (i work in IT so i'm happy to poke around) and seen some people have had sucess doing so.

What I wanted to know was how do I know if my head unit can be 'modded' and is there anything I can do to achive my goals out of the box?

I see lots of different terminology - Honda connect, mirror link etc but I was interested in how I could potentially achieve my aim!

Thanks for reading!

·
Registered
19 Posts
I’ve put Waze and Spotify on mine. Had to do a factory reset then install mikes hack. Fairly easy. Gimme a shout if you get stuck

·
Registered
93 Posts
system that will be updated to the latest version for when I pick it up
is there anything I can do to achieve my goals out of the box?
From what I've read in other threads, your best course of action would be to NOT update the system to the latest version, in a hope that the car has a low-enough version which allows for 3rd party applications to be installed without a need to do factory resets, downgrading versions, etc.

·
Registered
19 Posts
From what I've read in other threads, your best course of action would be to NOT update the system to the latest version, in a hope that the car has a low-enough version which allows for 3rd party applications to be installed without a need to do factory resets, downgrading versions, etc.