2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,775 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys,

Dilemma time :facepalm: I currently have an HKS rsk induction and Flash Pro and have been using a very helpful guy (Paul) on here with etuning. Now my question is......should I just go with a full remap from say TDI North which is £350 and then that would be it done, or continue with the etuning which I have been doing now for approx 3 months.

The reason it's taking this long is due to me not having the time to go out and spend 45 mins or so in the car doing the various things required for the mapping, plus there's not many places to go where you can hit the rev limiter etc where I am and also I'm spending a fair whack on fuel each time I do it.

Now....as i only have the HKS, would I see much in the way of gains? I know people will say your best getting a manifold and cat back before a remap but I'm 34 and don't want to have the car screaming at me when I put the foot down! ;)

TDI is 220 miles away from me so I'd be looking at £350 for the remap, approx £70 for fuel and I'd have to have a full day free, i.e. leaving at 6am!

What you guys think is the best option?

Opinions very welcome! :popcorn2:

Cheers

Ali.

·
Banned
2,328 Posts
Hi mate,

In my opinion it's not worth going for "another" remap unless you get a race manifold.

You'll obviously see a great gain with a dyno map from TDI, but maybe get a few more supporting mods first? and make it a worthwhile trip?

Also you can get a manifold and either keep the standard exhaust or maybe get a quiet exhaust and it won't be that loud.

My opinion mate :)

·
Premium Member
1,775 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Frank, I'm still in the middle of the current remap using etuning, so it wouldn't be another remap as such, it would be a full and finished one. Cheers for your opinion though ;)

·
Banned
2,328 Posts
tbh mate i though that for an etune you just needed 1 run in 3rd gear from 2000rpm to redline?