2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,515 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

Getting a Tegiwa manifold fitted soon. As it says above. Is it best to wrap it or not? Don't know much about it so your opinions and reasons are most welcome.

·
Premium Member
851 Posts
Ceramic coating would be another option :)

http://rukse-com.hubpages.com/hub/Ceramic-Coating-vs-Heat-Wrap

http://www.torquecars.com/tuning/exhaust-wraps.php

http://www.zircotec.com/page/exhaust_system_coatings/60

Off the top of my head, the main negatives seem to be a slight decrease in exhaust life, I think the wrap itself degrades over time (something you won't get with ceramic), and the potential for hot spots to develop if it's not wrapped evenly. I'm no expert though :)

Where in the UK are you? There's a place in Warrington called Camcoat that done the Milltek manifold I had on my ST last year. They do a choice of finishes, from satin black (what I had) to chrome, and various colours. It was a cracking job too :)

They will also coat the inside of your manifold too if you'd like.

Hope that helps mate :)

·
Premium Member
851 Posts
Hi dude,

I recently got a CPL manifold.

I don't know too much about the tegiwa, but the CPL does smell quite a lot and is very, very loud!

So i believe wrapping may be beneficial!
The smell could be a little bit of oil and grease residue from when it was handled and installed. I had the same with my last car after a manifold was fit.

·
Premium Member
2,515 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I don't live too far from Warrington. How much was is? What are the benefits to it then by keeping the heat down.

·
Premium Member
851 Posts
I can't remember exactly, but £140 rings a bell. They had the manifold for 2 days I think it was.

After the research I done, the main benefits were: