2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Right I need help with the Aux-In before I kill someone :mad:

I know most/all of you drive hatchback civics (I drive the saloon), but I "hope" someone can help, possibly a hybrid owner?
Initially I tried to make my own aux-in using a guide I found on a US site, see here.....

We'll I couldn't get it working (I'm an Engineer believe it or not :oops: ).
So I got myself a Connects2 you all seem to be using.
I can get the HU out in approx 5 mins (I've got it nailed now :) )
And connected the connects2 to the white connector at the back of my HU, which was empty btw.
The HU in my car is a 6CD changer no satnav.
I've connected it up but the CD/AUX button doesn't change to AUX.
Can anyone help or have any ideas? Please Please Please Please Please :confused:
Here are some pictures for reference....

Attachments

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well I couldn't just sit around and wait for some brains here to help me, so I went out and pulled out the HU again, did it in 5 minutes alright but it took 10 minutes for my finger to stop bleeding :oops:

I decided to go back to my original home made €5 cable.
First thing I did was remove the "B" connector, it only has 2 pins connected in its present state. As I found out later these connections are for the steering wheel controls.

I decided to just connect pin 5 to 15 (supposed to enable the AUX option), turned on the radio, pressed the CD button twice and bob's your uncle, theres AUX on the display......SWEEET!!

So I pulled the cable I made apart, soldered it again (properly ;) ) and plugged it directly into the back of the HU, I left the original connection off.

Put it all back together and temporarily routed the cable beside the gear stick (I'll go back in to connect the steering controls in a few days).

Plugged in my ipod and lovely sounds surrounded me :D
Here's a couple of pics!!!!!

Attachments

·
Registered