2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm a first time driver and purchased a 2006 honda civic 1.4 petrol a few months ago. Everything is going great but a couple of things which are annoying me.

The centre console which lights up to shows my spedometer etc keeps randomly turning itself off. (I've attached a picture so you know what i'm talking about lol) and the knob you use to adjust the brightness doesn't seem to keep it on when you push it in. Usually i have to leave it a while and then push the button in and out for ages before it decides to stay on. Anyone know what this could be?

Also, the gear shifter has signs of wear which im told is common so purchased one online which was supposed to fit my car for the mechanic to say it's not compatible. Does anyone know where I can get a new one as mine has a black scratch in it?

·
Registered
71 Posts
Hi I'm a first time driver and purchased a 2006 honda civic 1.4 petrol a few months ago. Everything is going great but a couple of things which are annoying me.

The centre console which lights up to shows my spedometer etc keeps randomly turning itself off. (I've attached a picture so you know what i'm talking about lol) and the knob you use to adjust the brightness doesn't seem to keep it on when you push it in. Usually i have to leave it a while and then push the button in and out for ages before it decides to stay on. Anyone know what this could be?

Also, the gear shifter has signs of wear which im told is common so purchased one online which was supposed to fit my car for the mechanic to say it's not compatible. Does anyone know where I can get a new one as mine has a black scratch in it?

I'm no sparky of any kind so I can't comment on the elec side but regarding the gear knob u can probs buy different rings to fit the knob