2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thanks for the welcome and the forum. I'm also new to Honda. It's reliability and quality image attracted me and my wife.
I reckon the Civic is the one for us but unsure of which engine to aim for so I am hoping the knowledge and experience of Civinfo can direct us.
I retire in 2015 and once a year we'd like to drive from Nottingham through France and into Germany and return loaded up with wine and wine! So there's a load to transport and lengthy autobahn driving.
Could anyone say if the 1.4 petrol would be up to the mark. Great for day to day pootling but I've never ran a car less than 1.6 before so would prefer the 1.8 from habit. It's got to be a 'previously cherished' late model Civic. Any one help?
Thanks in advance and regards
mgp

·
Administrator
18,008 Posts
Hello mgp and welcome to Civinfo from just up the A46 :)

How many miles do you estimate you'll be doing annually?

·
Premium Member
2,764 Posts
welcome to the forum!

That drive will be fantastic. Me and a friend took his 2.2 to the nurburgring, via amsterdam, then through belgium and france to andorra, then on to spain, before driving for a ferry home.

I'd recommend the 2.2 for the MPG and for the extra torque, making it a fun car to drive. It'll keep you entertained on those long trips!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Hello mgp and welcome to Civinfo from just up the A46 :)

How many miles do you estimate you'll be doing annually?
Thanks for interest. when I retire I reckon maybe 6000 a year...maybe up to 8000 if we do more pootling about.

·
Administrator
18,008 Posts
Hmmm, tricky one. I'm not sure about the 1.4 petrol but I know the 2.2 diesel will waft along and eat up the miles. The trouble is, that you really won't be doing enough miles to warrant the extra fuel and servicing costs of a derv.