2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Premium Member
758 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.

Got an 08 nighthawk black civic type S, and it's looking a little worse for wear compared to when I bought it a year ago, and is just in need of a little TLC.

I have been browsing over the cleaning forum for quite a while and in short I don't even know where to start product wise as there seems to be so much to choose from. With it getting to be summer I want my car to look the best, and basically i'm asked for beginners advice on how to make the exterior of my car look great.

In short - I'm a cleaning and detailing noob that has just been using £5 car washes ever since I have owned a car. HELP!

·
Premium Member
703 Posts
Depending on where in Yorkshire you are take a trip to see Mr Wistow. He will sort the car out for you, give you advice on products and techniques and give you a telling off for taking your car to the local scratch merchants. Haha

·
SHOCKD
4,351 Posts
Depending on where in Yorkshire you are take a trip to see Mr Wistow. He will sort the car out for you, give you advice on products and techniques and give you a telling off for taking your car to the local scratch merchants. Haha
+1

I would have done this if I lived a little closer

·
Cleaning Moderator
12,684 Posts
As you have been using the £5 washes then I suspect your car is now full of swirls, meaning it has lost its gloss. The only way to get it back is to polish the car. If by hand use gtechniq P1 or Meguiars #205 if using a DA polisher. Once done then protect it with a decent wax.

·
Premium Member
758 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yes it's safe to say after I found the cleaning section of this forum that I have been neglecting my car. Thanks for all the advice, will give the gtechniq polish a go, any recommendations on a wax to use?

·
Cleaning Moderator
12,684 Posts