2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had my CTR now for 9 months or so, and I'm coming up to 18,000 miles...

Now.. has anybody else noticed that under heavy breaking there's a juddering sound/feeling in the brake pedal?

I thought that it's possibly the two soft rubber parts on the front bumper scraping.. but I was just wondering if anybody else has had the same?

Cheers guys, and girls.

·
Naughty but nice
4,134 Posts
I totally agree with James and R-2. I can't see that there would be anything scraping against the bumper and if there is then you have a issue.

I'm guessing you've not had any impact to the car on the front which could make you think that things are scraping?

·
Honda aficionado
814 Posts
If its not the ABS working it could be warped discs.
I concur, but I am no mechanic...... Many, many years ago this happened on a much earlier Honda Civic I owned. The dealer diagnosed the brake discs being unevenly worn/warped. I understand the discs can either be skimmed or failing that, have to be replaced. Mind you I don't think the early Civic I refer to did have ABS.

·
P1259 ODB-II
267 Posts
Part of the Honda MAC training day was to experience the ABS working.

Basically give this a try.

Find a nice straight bit of road / car park.
Get up to about 30 mph.
Check behind you for an empty road.
Nail the brake pedal as if something big and hairy is stood in the way.

The brake pedal should shake violently under foot and vibrate lots.
If it doesn't then you haven't stamped on the brake enough (Try harder!).

This is the basic test we went though on the day with the ex-police instructor sat beside me. Don't forget ABS isn't there to stop you quicker. It's there to give you the ability to steer around something instead of skidding uncontrolled straight to the scene of the accident.