2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to colour code my grille and fuel cap, i want to paint as appose to plasti-dip. Can anyone give me any advice, like what sand paper and primer to use?

·
drives a shed now
1,433 Posts
I'm looking to colour code my grille and fuel cap, i want to paint as appose to plasti-dip. Can anyone give me any advice, like what sand paper and primer to use?
As Jack suggested 600 to key it. Then plastic primer. Then a dusting of colour as a guide. You wet flat this back with 2500 grit to ensure scratches are gone from 'keying the surface'. Basically you should no longer see the dusted colour coat, and not have gone through the primer.
Then panel wipe and paint :)

·
Deserter to Lexus
1,999 Posts
I'll try help as I'm a 12 year qualified professional painter, but ill have to think about the products available to you as opposed to the products you'll find in say Halfords. For example wet n dry hasn't been used in the trade for anything other than de-nibbing for donkeys years everything is dry sanded with dust extraction now as it makes a better job and is much cleaner.

My first question would be what colour are you going and what have you got to spray with, a compressor and guns or are you trying to do this with cellulose rattle cans?

Also do you have access to a DA? That's an orbital sander if the word DA means nothing.

The reason I ask is because round sanding discs that are designed to be used in an orbital motion are much more abravise when used by hand, sanding with a piece of 500 disc on a back and forth motion by hand for example put scratches on as deep as 240 grit on a DA so if you can only use your hands then either buy paper designed to be used by hand or use much less abrasive paper