2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Premium Member
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not talking about thrashing the engine all the time, but I do like to have fun with the torque on the diesel every now and then. My question is, do these diesel engines/turbos have a high tolerence for sudden changes in acceleration? Im guessing the 2.2 diesel engine was not designed for performance like the v-tec. Im slowly learning how to get the best performance out of the engine, and not taking the revs near the red line as the performance seems to drop off after 3.5X1000 revs, but occasionally i do see the rev LEDs! Saying this, I think I remember reading somewhere that said that diesels do benefit from being pushed every now and again. Any input would be great as im still a bit of a novice when it comes to modern diesels. Thanks

·
Mondeo Mann is here!!
1,333 Posts
The diesels these days are built to withstand very high tolerances. The 2.2 loves to be pushed every now and again. I find for the best acceleration make sure the revs are about 1800-2000rpm, just where the turbo kicks in, and floor it. It brings a smile to my face and scares the doggy doo out of everyone else in the car. Change up before 3500 rpm to keep the power on. With regards to the red lights, on mine they start (2 LED's) to come on about 4000 rpm and then its 2 LED's for every 200 rpm with all 6 on at 4500 rpm i think just to make sure you don't get near the red line.

·
Premium Member
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks. Like I said, still looking at getting the best of the engine, and really love the power available at higher motorway speeds. In particular the point when the 50mph temporary speed restriction for roadworks ends on a motorway. Those petrol cars just cant keep up, even when im accelerating in 6th!

·
Premium Member
702 Posts
i would say the diesel is made for performance!