2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey so this may have been covered before but I find searching this forum a nightmare on my phone and have issues logging in from work....
Anyway... I’ve noticed over the last few weeks that my car has become sluggish as if there’s something holding it back and seems to be drinking fuel. I’ve done a google search and some are saying that a caliper could be locked on? I had new discs and pads put on the rear about 3 weeks ago and was told about 2 months ago when i had it serviced that the exhaust needed changing soon as it was blowing just under the drivers door. So would either of these cause the issue or should I just take it to Honda and ask them to look at it. Bear in mind I’m a girl not a mechanic so unlikely to fix myself

Thanks in advance x

·
Enjoying life
8,559 Posts
A sticking Caliper will lead to it being much hotter than the others (don't touch the Caliper or disc, see if the actual wheel is warmer than the others). Oil level OK? A blowing exhaust won't help

·
Premium Member
1,337 Posts
Have someone check your air filter too, that may need replacing or may have become blocked. The exhaust blowing won't help either.
Also check that there are no loose pipes under the bonnet you can see. If unsure, take a pic and post ere for us all to take a look at.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Checked the wheels after a drive to Meadowhall on m1. All wheels felt the same heat? Air filter was replaced on service in Feb/Mar. Done by ABP so I know it was definitely replaced. The belt under the bonnet looks very worn. I’ll try and add a pic later after work. Other than that can’t see any issues under bonnet. I’ve checked the oil it’s within normal range (good oil in only buy from opie). Re the belt seems like it should have something on the ends to stop it coming lose but doesn’t???

·
Enjoying life
8,559 Posts
What mileage is the car on?