2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

As I'm new to the Type R after some advice please, just done the smoothed air box mod on my FN2 and then fitted a cold air intake. Running this with a K&N panel filter.

What I have noticed by doing this is the throttle response is definetely sharper and the car feels more responsive.

But then I have noticed when I hit VTEC it seems quieter, and a smoother transition ? Where as before there was a definite whhhaaaaaaaa when I hit it ?

The car seems more responsive and still a quick car, but just worried I've affected the VTEC in some way by the mod ?

I have obviously removed the resinator that sits under the wing I'm wondering if that is designed to amplify the sound ? I'm unsure.

I appreciate any thoughts you have in advance.

Cheers :smile3:

·
Enjoying life
8,531 Posts
Hopefully you didn't remove the 2 fins just before the maf :smile3:
Where does your caf route? Did you recharge the filter? Not too much oil?

·
A wizard is never late...
793 Posts
a resonator is made to actually make the induction noise quieter, im my honest opinion the smoothed airbox is a waste of time as if it did make the car feel better honda would have made it like that from factory. but its your car to as what you wish.

i doubt its anything to do with the maf as the car would be lumpy and possibly even throw a eml, check all hoses are connected tight and maybe its just in your head that is changed. i know sometimes i notice something about my car after changing something small and think was it always like that or is it in my head.

·
Premium Member
228 Posts
I found the same. The resonator on the fn2 actually amplifiers the high cam intake sound. Honda must have tuned it to do that. I put mine back in and kept the smoothed box on my old fn2

·
Registered
3 Posts