2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

Im experiencing my 2014 Tourer isnt too stable when driving in a straight line. Like i have to steer a little bit all the time to keep it running straight.

Its always been like that since i got it from the dealer. I asked them to check the wheel alignment under warranty, and they did, and found "it was a little bit off spec."

They adjusted the toe angle, and that improved the stability a bit. Still i dont find it satisfactory. My old 8th. gen was much more stable, and drivng my missus' 2015 Mazda 3 doesnt make it any better.:(

Im a mechanic myself, and today i decided to check if the dealers alignment was correct...
The front toe was a little off, like +0.07'. Spec says 0.00' AFAIC.
I was thinkin that having a slight toe-in would improve stabilty.

Driving home after a small adjustment, it felt the same, or maybe an itty bitty bit better.

What other options do i have now to make it more stable?

Thanks!

·
Registered
179 Posts
It could also be caster on the front. On one of my Preludes I had a front caster issue where it made the car pull slightly to the side. I woudlnt say that it made the car fell unstable though, just that it pulled.

Do Civic's have any adjustment of the radius rod? Or the ability to add/remove shims?

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It doesnt pull to either side. Steering wheel sits perfectly straight, it just doesnt drive in a straight line, so i have to compensate a little all the time.
The rear toe was a bit off, but theres no adjustment possible.

·
Administrator
18,084 Posts
It doesnt pull to either side. Steering wheel sits perfectly straight, it just doesnt drive in a straight line, so i have to compensate a little all the time.
I wondered if you'd had a knock, which'd biff'd your rear toe.

Do you have even tyre wear?

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
179 Posts