2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright Type R owners!

I got my type R today - what a car!? I was also told i dont need to run it in at all which i found hard to believe. Took most of the day steady but gave it the Lead boot now n then.

Im lucky in that Im fairly young to be able to drive this car (21).

My worst fault with it is that it requires so much self control. Im use to driving powerfulish 2.0-3.0 TDi diesels but this is another league.

By the time the vtec comes I feel like Im off to prison!

Im keeping to most B roads and motorway where speeding isnt as much of a problem.

Any tips as im a conciencious driver & want to keep my license

Maybe self control will Have to prevail & save my day?

Also How do I submit a photo of the car?

·
Premium Member
22,623 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,696 Posts
Welcome fellow young Type R driver!!

When i picked mine up i was reaaaallllyyy keen to give mine the boot, but i didnt. Didnt really take mine above 5k revs for the first 600 miles.

i picked mine up on the 5th jan and ive done just over 600 miles in the past 11 days. I definotly think it was worth while waiting until now to start really putting my foot down as i can feel the engine has freed up a bit. Even now im not caining it everywhere im still easing her in!

My best advice is read up on this forum for breaking in techniques (really helped me) and try not to take it much above 5k revs for the first 600 or so and drive everywhere every night to get it up to that magic 600. Dont want to ruin the experience when it only just started.

My advice for not losing your licence...... dont go above ther speed limit :D

In the gallery section there is a thread on how to post pics there.

Enjoy the car its FANTASTIC!!!!!

p.s what colour you got?

·
Registered
83 Posts
Welcome to the Honda world lucky boy. I hope you enjoy every moment in it.