2006+ Honda Civic Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, all - happy Christmas!

For Christmas this year, I've been gifted a JVC KW-R520 double-DIN head unit - and I have very little experience in installing head units in cars, so I'm just after a little bit of advice with regards to fitting it, please. I am okay with getting the stock fascia off, and I know I have to order a fascia to fit the new unit (that will be on the way very soon) - but I get stumped at the wiring. I haven't attempted to change it yet - but do I need a wiring harness? I needed one for my old Corsa, but there is a wiring harness in the box with the unit - so do I need an extra wiring loom as a necessity? That's the only thing I'm a little worried about!

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
620 Posts
The wiring is straight forward if you get the Connects2 kit with the Honda adaptor. There is a bit of soldering and joining wires to be done - I just got a local auto electrician to do mine, done in a few seconds for free.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The wiring is straight forward if you get the Connects2 kit with the Honda adaptor. There is a bit of soldering and joining wires to be done - I just got a local auto electrician to do mine, done in a few seconds for free.
Ahh - thanks very much for the reply. Is it not as straight-forward as plugging the stock wires into the harness that has come with the new unit, and that's it? I'm not too concerned about losing the antenna for the radio - I just want to be able to listen to my music on my phone, haha!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hi, all - happy Christmas!